We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
east kilbride
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

we stayed at this hotel when we attended a wedding at black clauchrie. what can I say- friendly staff, very clean bedrooms, food amazing, nothing was a bother. my only regret was, I wish the wedding was held here

Room Tip: would recommend this hotel to anyone. would certainly return to this hotel if I was in the area agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noreen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    111
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
57
77
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was a return visit and all the good points remain: friendly staff, very clean, plentiful breakfast. On the Saturday night there was a lively 70th birthday party, but no noise permeated up to the second floor.
Only complaint were the windows; difficult to open and in the case of the bathroom window impossible to fully close. However I was more concerned with the bedroom window which was very low and out of which was a big drop. The window had no safety features and the pivot window could be opened fully, which I felt would be dangerous if there were children in the room or indeed an adult after a few drinks! This window was also difficult to close as one of the catches was broken.

Room Tip: No lift, views from the rear fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Bruce Hotel in Newton Stewart was a value for money stay in the Scottish Borders. The room was a good size (the bathroom was huge!) and cleaned every day. The position of the room was facing the main street so you sometimes got to hear some of the traffic noise. All the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. If you are parking your car, breathe in - the car park is through an arch, at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdmcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed here overnight on a trip around Galloway. Had a very good sized double room with comfortable beds. Food was very good indeed including the full breakfast in the morning. Good value for money and would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker227135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

A group of us stayed for the Newton Stewart Walkfest and were very well taken care of by the attentive staff. The housekeeping staff were especially helpful in dealing with all our wet walking gear, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the service in the dining room was efficient and nothing was too much trouble. We dined in the hotel often and we all enjoyed the meals--- no mean feat there being 13 of us. A cosy, comfortable hotel....the Heather Belles

Room Tip: We had room 19 ,very roomy with a couch and good view of the hills...nice and quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maz019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Super staff, great food..... all at a good price in a central location for exploring Galloway, Scotland
All staff were very pleasant and helpful, and Robert was exemplary in his desire to provide excellent service.
A very good short break.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Very welcoming and well organised. Attentive staff who make your stay a pleasure. A popular hotel that has a bit of life about it.
most impressed by the customer service, from everyone from the housekeepers to the bar, reception and waiting/kitchen team. I wouldn't hesitate to come back. Particularly recommend staying on a Thursday night as the pub quiz is great fun.

Scott Drysdale
Cubic

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
12.9 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
13.2 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Property: Bruce Hotel
Address: 88 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing