We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, friendly and all round great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly and all round great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a night here as we were visiting my grandparents in the village...it is our second time staying and like last time didn't disappoint :)
The place is cosy and inviting, the rooms comfy, well equipt and spacious
We really wanted for nothing!! The food was amazing (I recommend the meat pie, Gordan Ramsey visited once and had it claiming it to be lovely..trust me it was)
The bar is very friendly a big shout out to the beautiful and very friendly Sarah behind the bar..she made us feel very welcome :)
Also the Manager Callum what a nice guy!! Very professional, thoughtful and great with customers (funny too)
We won't stay anywhere else in Newton Stewart..a real gem
Keep the good work up guys..see you soon hopefully x

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    110
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
56
75
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stay here whenever crossing to Ireland as it breaks up the length of the trip, always the best value rooms which, although could do with some redecorating are well appointed. Hotel is in a good location for exploring the area. Meal time is also good, very good staff and generous food portions that always taste good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A random drive brought us to Newton Stewart and The Bruce, asked someone on street where was nice to eat and this is where they said. The waitor was lovely, very good with me 7year old son, very attentive. The sunday dinner is quite possibly the best sunday dinner I've had in the area! It was so yummy, simply NOM! 3 courses for £15. My son had the kids Haddock and oh my it was gorgeous! Fresh with crispy batter. For 3 adults, 1 child, (2x 3 course meals, 1 adult meal, kids meal and pud, couple rounds of drinks) it came to £54. Will def be going back, christmas menu looks total amazeballs.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank festie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just spent 3 days back at the Bruce, and although this hotel feels like a home from home for me my review is not at all biased and always based on truth.

The staff are absolutely incredible and always go the extra mile - including filling one of our party's rooms with balloons and banners when they discovered it was his birthday, and even bringing in board games and computer games from their own homes to cater for the children in our party on a particularly miserable day. There really isn't anything they wouldn't do.

Rooms were clean and warm as always.

Food was brilliant and plentiful. Do not skip breakfast, you will be missing out!

You must stay here if you are wanting a traditional Scottish welcome overlooking the Galloway forrest, with excellent service and a decent meal. You will leave (regretfully!) feeling as part of their "big, happy family".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Just had a relaxing stay at the Bruce Hotel in Newton Stewart what a excellent hotel, staff very helpful, breakfast was excellent, room very nice, tea tray had plenty of coffee, tea, milk, biscuits and a bottle of water, you don't often see that.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fish_dog46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The RideAgainstCancer team were cycling off road across Scotland staying at various places along the way. The Bruce Hotel was our first port of call. We stayed there two nights and the whole team, eight of us agreed that the welcome, service and food were exceptional. nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they even helped us clean our bikes! We would all like to recommend this Hotel to anyone travelling across Scotland wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: all rooms were fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Have stayed at the Bruce many times. Every time it has been a wonderful experience. The rooms are big and airy.Calum and and the staff are brilliant cant do enough for you.Cooth the bar manager is great with the kids while you have a drink in the bar.food is also first class and plentiful.we will keep coming back, we enjoy it so much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
12.9 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Property: Bruce Hotel
Address: 88 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing