We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel”
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

On arrival at hotel do not be alarmed by the seemingly very narrow entrance to the rear car park - a careful, slow approach gets your car through safely. Rooms are on first and second floors. No lift. We had room at back with a view to the hills (once you had averted your eyes from the roof top of Jewsons and other bits of industrial looking buildings). Quiet. Rooms themselves are very tired and the mattress on the bed was the worst I have slept in for a long time - very hard due to lack of springs rather than deIiberate orthopaedic style. Not that we spend time watching TV in hotel rooms, but the tiny tiny size of the TV was quite funny. Take your binoculars if you want to view a film!! The tea tray is quite well stocked and a bottle of water provided. Pillows and duvet are very thin and tired. The bathroom was okay, but the flimsy shower curtain meant there was a fight with it when using the shower as it kept sticking to you. The bath was a disgrace - the inside of it was badly scratched and marked. Breakfast was okay. Bar is open to non residents which was not very nice when a large group of young men came in and proceeded to talk loudly using strong swear words, which were met with a vain attempt by the barman to ask them to keep it down as there were guests in the bar - they should have been asked to leave or maybe the manager needs to decide if the hotel accommodation and guests is a priority or whether it is a facility for drinking/events. Hotel is located in Newton Stewart which is a small town. There is very very limited scope for eating out. The positive side is that it is very well located for some excellent hiking and the sights of the Galloway Forest and coastline.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Bruce Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Booked as a last minute as I has heading up to catch an early Cairnryan boat. This place was an excellent bolt hole. Old World old style hotel but oozing charm and all the staff believe in proper Scottish hospitality.
The most friendly hotel I've been at in a long time. A good get away from all the corporates. Lovely breakfast they served it a bit earlier for me too. Room was large and tastefully done a wee bit tired in decor but clean and the bed was lovely. The bathroom was fine too just with it being an old building took a wee while for the hot water to come through.
Would stay here again. It's saved on my Sat Nav will recomend and will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky-parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Me and my girlfriend took a romantic trip to see the stars on Valentine's day however disaster was afoot in the shape of a rain cloud so like typical glaswegians we turned to alcohol! The location is perfect for stargazers (hopefully better than us), hillwalkers and outdoor enthusiasts. We cant comment on the outdoor part due to weather conditions but the hotel was far too cosy and welcoming to care. Expect amazing and friendly staff (thanks to the barman for the hangover), spacious and comfortable rooms and amazing food. Will be revising our stargazing and returning here when the weather is friendlier! Barman and manager were especially helpful and good company. We wanted to have a romantic night with the stars but alas ended up with an equally amazing cosy night in!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank furstratedstargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have just stayed at this lovely hotel, we arrived on monday late aftenoon we were given a warm welcome of tea and cake while callum and staff delivered all cases to bedrooms, bed rooms were well stocked with tea coffee biscults and a bottle of water.
Evening meal was lovely and well accepted by all, the same as the reast of our meals. we were entertained on New years eve with some young scottish dancers, who showed us oldies how nimble they were, they were brill, music followed with a piper pipering in the new year. New years day was brill as well.

We have now learnt that this Hotel had never done a new years entertainment programe for a coach load of people before, yes there is a couple of things that can be improved on but all in all Callum and his staff was very helpful and all worked as a team, which is something you don't always see.. The rooms were quite large and roomy and very clean, anything that we ask for was sorted very quickly, and all with friendly chatter and a smile on their face. The only downside is if you are unsteady on your legs be aware the Bruce Hotel in Newton Stewart has no lift .. We hope to be back again for the new year .

Room Tip: If you want good service good food and friendly staff stay at this lovely hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a night here as we were visiting my grandparents in the village...it is our second time staying and like last time didn't disappoint :)
The place is cosy and inviting, the rooms comfy, well equipt and spacious
We really wanted for nothing!! The food was amazing (I recommend the meat pie, Gordan Ramsey visited once and had it claiming it to be lovely..trust me it was)
The bar is very friendly a big shout out to the beautiful and very friendly Sarah behind the bar..she made us feel very welcome :)
Also the Manager Callum what a nice guy!! Very professional, thoughtful and great with customers (funny too)
We won't stay anywhere else in Newton Stewart..a real gem
Keep the good work up guys..see you soon hopefully x

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stay here whenever crossing to Ireland as it breaks up the length of the trip, always the best value rooms which, although could do with some redecorating are well appointed. Hotel is in a good location for exploring the area. Meal time is also good, very good staff and generous food portions that always taste good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A random drive brought us to Newton Stewart and The Bruce, asked someone on street where was nice to eat and this is where they said. The waitor was lovely, very good with me 7year old son, very attentive. The sunday dinner is quite possibly the best sunday dinner I've had in the area! It was so yummy, simply NOM! 3 courses for £15. My son had the kids Haddock and oh my it was gorgeous! Fresh with crispy batter. For 3 adults, 1 child, (2x 3 course meals, 1 adult meal, kids meal and pud, couple rounds of drinks) it came to £54. Will def be going back, christmas menu looks total amazeballs.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank festie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
358 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
431 reviews
1.2 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stables Guest House
Stables Guest House
#1 of 17 in Newton Stewart
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Address: 88 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range: £59 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing