We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“opening hours a problem” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Horse Hotel

Black Horse Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“opening hours a problem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

They provide a very good dinner, of fairly ordinary basic food, at reasonable price. There are 2 problems. The main one is opening hours, only offering evening meal on the weekend days. And given the timimg, sometimes the music from the bar is too obtrusive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I Love this place, the food is outstanding and the service is brilliant. All the staff are very friendly, lots at choice and very good value for money. The customers that drink in there are very friendly too, definatley recommend this lovely public house x

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank juliajiiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Booked in for a party of 11 and had the best service ever! Denise, the waitress was very attentive and made our night most enjoyable. The bar staff were also very friendly. The food and menu choice was outstanding! We all had a brilliant evening!!

Helpful?
Thank FrazerAyr_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
116 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel with a party of shooters . The staff were all very helpful, could not be more helpful. The breakfast was to die for. We have stayed here before many times. The hotel has been refurbished and is very nicely done. The bar is busy all weekend and very enjoyable. Will be back again soon. The service is outstanding. Thank you.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bigemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I went here for an evening meal our first impression was a bit reserved. There were several men in the bar and they were watching Top Gear on the TV with the sound a bit on the loud side for us. However we soon settled in when the waitress came over to take our order. Her friendly attitude and efficient manner soon had us at ease.

At one point she overheard my wife saying she could not find her mobile phone to made a call, the waitress produced the hotel mobile phone and let my wife make the local call without charge.

The hotel had a wide variety of meals on offer which we thought were on the expensive side of average, but when we had our meal we thought it was worth every penny. The portions were of a decent size, very tasty and enjoyable and we left the table well satisfied by what we had.

On the whole we both enjoyed our meal and are in no doubt this establishment with it’s friendly and welcoming staff, it’s good food, fast service and comfortable surrounds will entice us back at a later date.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOGgy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Horse Hotel also viewed

Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Black Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing