We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would happily return”
Review of Rowallan House

Rowallan House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowallan House
Ranked #5 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Rowallan is a solid & lovely old house set in a mature garden, and is a very well run & welcoming guest house. If you normally stay in modern hotels of the anonymous / corporate interior designer style, this establishment may not be for you, but for those used to staying basically in other people’s interesting homes, this is one of the best. The house is very clean, the bed and bed linen was extremely comfortable, the water was hot and plentiful for a bath (the over-bath shower pressure was a bit low). The house is very quiet and I slept better than I have in any hotel of any grade in as many years as I can remember. The food, both breakfast and the optional set evening meal was excellent. Coffee at breakfast time was really good too. There is a “house bar” in the lounge selling a limited but perfectly adequate small range of drinks for two hours around dinner time. Newton Stewart is literally minutes away on foot so there are pubs and eateries in easy reach. For serious dining options you may need to drive if you are looking for “fine dining” but the town offers a variety of options which the owners of Rowallan will list for you. Wi Fi is free and good in the bar / lounge - not so great in our bedroom but this was not a problem for us. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nuvoloso18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very friendly Guest House, strategically placed to enable either exploring around Newton Stewart itself or further afield. Rooms are to a very high standard of cleanliness, the single with plenty of space and a spacious shower room. I met with a very warm welcome, Mine Host being well informed of his surroundings, and very hospitable. The breakfasts are expertly cooked and delicious with plenty of choice. I would not hesitate to revisit in the future!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnboyTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This B&B is perfect at all levels!!!! It is highly commendable!!!!
We've got an extremely nice welcome, enjoyed a copious breakfast.
The house, which is globally very pleasant,has a complete equipment and is in addition very quiet and located in a very quite area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodolphe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked this after reading reviews etc and the whole style and ambience of the place ticked the boxes for us. We arrived after a very long drive to be met by the owners with big smiles and a hugely friendly welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and Julie went through everything we needed to know. Breakfast was the among the best I have had.

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed with the only slight comment is the size of the TV screen being too small and for me, the mattress a bit hard (used to a mattress topper at home).

I would recommend this place unreservedly. One thing to note - try and book direct as the prices are better than if you use a booking site.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickster0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

stayed here for a week although most people used it as a stop over point whilst touring around.We were made to feel welcome and comfortable.food was good.Julie was friendly without being intrusive into our privacy.If you want a peaceful break this is the place for you,although there are many places to eat and drink within walking distance.A trip to newton stewart cannot pass without a visit to kenny in the unicorn chinese restraunt ,or another kenny in the creebridge hotel.Both of whom have the most wicked sense of humour!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Wonderful house.Very large room with a big comfy bed.Bathroom also spacious.Breakfast served in the conservatory overlooking the mature gardens.Most enjoyable stay.Very quiet surroundings.Friendly hosts.Would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeniebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I have now been going to Rowallan for about 8 years and I am treated like I am part of the family , always welcomed with a smile and a good old chat to see if myself and my family are doing well . The house and whichever room I stay in is always spotless and cannot find fault with anything , the breakfasts are great and well cooked and so are the evening meals which I prefer rather than eating out, nothing like a home cooked meal away from home .
I only wish I could stay there more often

Room Tip: Room 6 is my favorite ,kingsize bed, plenty of room but all the other rooms are great all with nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey197516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newton Stewart hotels
0.3 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Conifers Leisure Park
Conifers Leisure Park
#1 of 11 in Newton Stewart
302 reviews
7 mi away
The Bladnoch Inn
The Bladnoch Inn
#13 of 17 in Newton Stewart
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowallan House

Address: Rowallan House Corsbie Road, Newton Stewart DG8 6JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rowallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowallan House Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing