We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet establishment”
Review of Rowallan House

Rowallan House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowallan House
Ranked #6 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Cangothere
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quiet establishment”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Quiet, well positioned house with welcoming owners.
Breakfast was satisfactory but the bread for the toast was a bit 'plastic' not so nice as what we got at our next B & B I'm afraid.
Could only get wifi in lounge but it was free. No toiletries in shower room.
The TV started flashing in the middle of the night and had to get out of bed to switch it off - this also happened in another B & B.
Very comfortable room with a lovely view of the garden.

Room Tip: Breakfast is served at ten minute intervals so if you want best choice of time book in early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cangothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
30
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Witney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fantastic, lovely. I was staying there for a family funeral last spring, nothing was too much bother for the guys even when I managed to break my room key, half an hour before the service and I was still in jeans and jumper! They sorted me out and I arrived "booted and suited" on time for the proceedings.
Breakfast's was really good.
I really hope they are selling some of their garden plants to visitors, originally it was an old Victorian family house with amazing gardens with plants you could die for. Will be back in the Autumn for definite with husband (and a spade and fork!!)
Really really recommend Rowallen
Fiona
PS Plants (I did ask that I could take cuttings) are doing well in West Oxfordshire xx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed here for one night whilst passing through on a bike ride, the rooms were great the food was excellent and the people were lovely and friendly, we were also given safe accommodation for 6 bikes
all of this wrapped up in a gorgeous building inside and out

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felinegeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This B&B is very pleasant in the market town of Newton Stewart. The house has a bit of history the Earl of Galloway built two identical houses for his daughters in the 19th century this is one of them. The rooms are nice and clean and the house is in a quiet part of town so nice and quiet. This is a good centre for touring the Southern Uplands great scenery and walks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Rowallan is a solid & lovely old house set in a mature garden, and is a very well run & welcoming guest house. If you normally stay in modern hotels of the anonymous / corporate interior designer style, this establishment may not be for you, but for those used to staying basically in other people’s interesting homes, this is one of the best. The house is very clean, the bed and bed linen was extremely comfortable, the water was hot and plentiful for a bath (the over-bath shower pressure was a bit low). The house is very quiet and I slept better than I have in any hotel of any grade in as many years as I can remember. The food, both breakfast and the optional set evening meal was excellent. Coffee at breakfast time was really good too. There is a “house bar” in the lounge selling a limited but perfectly adequate small range of drinks for two hours around dinner time. Newton Stewart is literally minutes away on foot so there are pubs and eateries in easy reach. For serious dining options you may need to drive if you are looking for “fine dining” but the town offers a variety of options which the owners of Rowallan will list for you. Wi Fi is free and good in the bar / lounge - not so great in our bedroom but this was not a problem for us. We would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very friendly Guest House, strategically placed to enable either exploring around Newton Stewart itself or further afield. Rooms are to a very high standard of cleanliness, the single with plenty of space and a spacious shower room. I met with a very warm welcome, Mine Host being well informed of his surroundings, and very hospitable. The breakfasts are expertly cooked and delicious with plenty of choice. I would not hesitate to revisit in the future!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnboyTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This B&B is perfect at all levels!!!! It is highly commendable!!!!
We've got an extremely nice welcome, enjoyed a copious breakfast.
The house, which is globally very pleasant,has a complete equipment and is in addition very quiet and located in a very quite area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodolphe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.3 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
275 reviews
13.6 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
128 reviews
1.5 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stables Guest House
Stables Guest House
#1 of 17 in Newton Stewart
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowallan House

Property: Rowallan House
Address: Rowallan House Corsbie Road, Newton Stewart DG8 6JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rowallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowallan House Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing