We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracy C
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Very disappointed on arrival. Damp smell amongst other smells. Main bedroom matterese very poor could feel springs coming through. Carpet stains, cooker hood full of grease lounge furniture really tatty and uncomfortable the lean to or conservatory felt very unsteady when you stood on the floor really smelly damp smell. The living room ceiling looks as if its been patched and is a disgrace outside fences falling down and in general the lodge would benefit from some tlc and general maintenance
Sorry for thr negative review but its our opinion as written in the visitors book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2018
Hi John thank you for your review I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay in the lodge however many of our guests do and return year on year.

I shall address your points below which differ slightly from the comments that you made in the visitor book slightly.

1, The Cottage - the cottage mattress isn’t that old and although the cottage has been fully booked all year since January you are the only guest to comment on this. We have checked the mattress and there are no springs coming through.

2.The leather sofa that is in the cottage was bought a couple of years ago at the same time as the armchairs and were bought new. Again we have never had any complaints regarding the furniture in the living room. Unfortunately a degree of wear and tear is expected when you have more than 40 weeks a year booked in the Lodge; not every guest looks after things or leaves the cottage how they find it. The cleaner has limited time on a Sunday between guests to carry out a change over. Although your point about the cooker good is noted and has been dealt with.

There is however a continually round of maintenance and updating carried out in all three cottages during the winter months.

The carpets in the whole property were fully replaced in 2016 at the same time that the bathroom was replaced and fully refurbished. The soft furnishing were replaced in the property in November 2017

With the best will in the world we cannot replace carpets and sofas every year As we are only a small business.

3. At no point during your weeks visit did you bring any of your concerns to our attention despite seeing us on a number of occasions and as you are aware from the visitor book comments from other visitors we do try to accommodate and be helpful ?

4. The living room ceiling is the original lath and plaster ceiling at the property it is a Victorian lodge. The ceiling in its nature isn’t a smooth modern ceiling and we would rather not put a false ceiling in its place.

5. The rear porch has never been advertised as a conservatory it is a porch for hanging wet clothes up to dry and to leave wellies, and waders, walking boots and the like. The floor on the is a little uneven due to the floor boards under the vinyl flooring (which was recently fitted)

6. The outside boundary fences to the lodge are stick proof fencing which are in good order there was an area of fencing within the grounds of the lodge where the parking bay is that needed some attention as there were lose posts.

You also commented in the visitor book regarding the number of small frogs in the garden being an issue for you and your dog. The property is in the countryside and there are a number of natural watercourses and ponds nearby; part of the joy of the countryside is being able to enjoy the wildlife.

The lodge offers good value for money with the accommodation working out at £12pp per night based on for people staying in the lodge. We have been in business for more than 20 years and have many guests that come every year and many who come more than once a year. We are disappointed that you never spoke us at the time of your stay regarding any of the issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy C
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
5
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in the lodge twice now, and have thoroughly enjoyed both stays.
The accommodation is very comfortable, well equipped, and has a lovely open fire for when the evenings are cold. There is a fantastic selection of books to read, board games, and lots of DVD's to watch. The views from the lodge are lovely, open farmland, and some woodland. There are plenty of birds to spot if that is your thing, and the river is only a couple of minutes walk away.
The location couldn't be better, you are close to hundreds of attractions, and the amazing Galloway forest which is a walkers/cyclists paradise.
And of course you can fish here, which turned out to be a great thing, as I have taken it up as a hobby since our fist stay. So if you are an angler, walker, cyclist, nature enthusiast, or just want a peaceful relaxing holiday...this is just the place to stay!
The people are lovely and friendly, we feel very lucky to have found this place.
Amazing places to visit: Wild goat park, Deer park...where you can hand feed red deer! Wood of cree, Glentrool, Kirroughtree, Clatteringshaws, waterfalls, many castles and gardens, Mull of Galloway, Logan Fish Pond Marine Life Centre, fantastic coastline drives, wetland centres, activity centres, museums, distillery tours... Just so much to do, one week is never enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2018
Thank you for your review Amanda happy to have welcome you back to our cottages; hope to see you again soon (perhaps when the weather is a little better ) and later in the fishing season. Keep in touch and let us know how you get on this season :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfytom0...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 3 March 2018 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay here some time ago.
Wonderful fire lit for our arrival, beautiful location and exceptionally comfortable accommodation. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to welcome you back again sometimes check out our special offers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing