We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright South facing Living Room with stunning view Woodburning Stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Bright South facing Living Room with stunning view
Woodburning Stove
Twin Bedroom
View from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Weedo
Manchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What can I say ……. We were immediately impressed by this cottage and couldn’t wait to unpack. This is definitely a home from home and the owners have thought of every single thing. When we arrived there was wine and homemade cake which was delicious and much appreciated. The location was brilliant for us as we like to walk in the day and there are various walks around the forests right on the doorstep. A few minutes drive away is Newton Stewart where there are 2 supermarkets so no need to shop before you come. We had good weather whilst we there so spent a few evenings in the garden with a glass or two of wine to unwind after the day. We are booking again next year and are looking forward already to the peace and tranquillity. Keep up the excellent work. Janet & Mike

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
Thank you - we genuinely try to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable from the moment they arrive. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Thanks

Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Willow Cottage...and the scones and cake.

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Hi, So glad to hear that you enjoyed your two week stay and your 60th birthday at Willow Cottage. Many, many thanks for your kind comments and we will look forward to perhaps being able to welcome you again in the future. Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We too are frequent visitors to the forest park, enjoying being able to access it from the front door in minutes. It's so good to hear that you enjoyed Willow Cottage and we would be delighted to be able to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip and are grateful for your comments. We hope that we may be able to welcome you back to Willow Cottage again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Willow Cottage again this year. We really appreciate your taking the time to leave feedback and we will look forward to perhaps welcoming you again some time in the future, Thanks Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gill P
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow, brilliant, amazing!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just come back back from our 2nd holiday at Willow Cottage and again everything in the cottage was perfect. An added bonus this year was being able to walk up to the new visitor centre at Kirroughtree with its newly opened cafe and outdoor seating area. An easy 20 mins stroll through beautiful country side up to Kirroughtree with a chance to see red squirrels , woodpeckers etc in the wildlife hide hidden in the forest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
We are so glad to have welcomed you back again to Willow Cottage and that you found the facilities as good as ever. The visitor centre is a nice extra, it has a lovely ambience and we enjoy coffee and cake there as a treat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing