We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in beautiful setting”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright South facing Living Room with stunning view Woodburning Stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Bright South facing Living Room with stunning view
Woodburning Stove
Twin Bedroom
View from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bristleth...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A comfortable and family-friendly cottage in beautiful Galloway with lots to do and see for all the family. There are countless leaflets and maps (including a bird guide) in the cottage helping you choose what next to do. A warm welcome awaits you and the hosts are very friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Great news that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merlin A
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Truly amazing holiday sorry for delay! ”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Very sorry delay, I thought.I'd posted a review?
We had an amazing Holiday. Lovely cottage, beautiful views out of windows and garden! We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
A review is always welcome! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will hope to see you again soon. Thanks again. Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveG2367
1 review
“Amazing cottage with stunning views.”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely bowled over with the cottage and the stunning views, nice and clean with everything you would need. Very comfortable and we felt at home from the start - even the dog loved it. Katrina and Gordon left us some lovely treats which were much appreciated - they have definitely got this holiday cottage down to a tee and we are planning on visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage itself and the stunning views.
Liked least: We had to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Willow and thanks for your lovely feedback. Delighted to have confirmed your next booking this evening. Many thanks, Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolbrag...
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing stay a Willow Cottage”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had the most lovely week. Home from home, everything was catered for. The weather was great, the views were wonderful, would definitely stay at this cottage again. Thank you for an excellent stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Willow. Thanks for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryreeve
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3rd visit”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

our third visit to this lovely cottage not sure i needed to review again as i have praised this place before. It was our ruby wedding and could think of nowhere we would rather be. The weather for the fortnight was beautiful sunny and warm every day how lucky is that. Cottage was as good as ever and there is so much to see and do in the area. loved the wildlife especially all the different birds. Carrick bay as lovely as any place we have ever been.Hope to return in the near future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Reviews are always welcome Mary as we are keen to make sure that Willow Cottage continues to provide a welcome that we would hope to receive ourselves on holiday. Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks as always for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma M
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“What a Treat!! ”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fantastic owners who have this beautiful cottage set up so you have every home comfort and more. Was a treat to come home and put my clothes away as I did my washing and drying as we stayed. The welcome pack was delightful just what the doctor ordered after travelling for hours a choice of tea, coffee or wine and buns or a bit of everything. The cottage is decorated beautifully and the beds really comfy. The best bit was the views you never tired of them I could sit in the lounge all day and never get bored. I even made a friend in a little robin who came everyday as I sat with a cuppa outside. We seen all sorts of wildlife and seeing the deer on an evening was magical. The cottage seems remote but there is the forest park, towns, beaches, gardens, castles nearby the local town about 5 mins drive. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. Thanks for everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the wildlife too. Many thanks for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merlin l
haverfordwest
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery, beautiful cottage and perfect for a get away from it all holiday.”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Willow Cottage is just a perfect holiday cottage,every thing is thought of by Katrina and her family. The tea and coffee tray, complete with milk, was very welcome along with cakes and Wine! Great touch.
The cottage has amazing views over lovely countryside, a different view out of every window in the lounge. We saw loads of birds, a fox and a Roe deer nearly everyday. Just stunning.
The beaches near there were so beautiful and over on the horn of Whithorn practically deserted. We had a week of good weather, and one spectacular thunderstorm. A lovely relaxing holiday.
We stayed here in 2013 and I'm sure we'll be back again. Thank you Katrina for having such a great cottage and for sharing it. Be back soon!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thank you for leaving such positive feedback. We never tire of the views from the lounge as always something catches our eye, whether it be the tide coming in/out, the sun catching the fields in a particular way or the rain clouds approaching! Thanks again and we will look forward to perhaps welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing