We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright South facing Living Room with stunning view Woodburning Stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Bright South facing Living Room with stunning view
Woodburning Stove
Twin Bedroom
View from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WorkToHol...
Ayrshire
1 review
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Situated only a mile from Kirroughtree Forest and Visitor Centre, this cottage was in a fantastic location for walking and cycling. The area was also great for visiting many local tourist attractions. The cottage itself was immaculately clean and very welcoming and had everything you could need, including many books and games for both adults and children. The log burning stove was a welcome treat after a day out and we loved watching the wildlife from the window. I thought the telephone call from our host to check we had arrived safely and that everything was ok was a lovely touch. My only negative was that it would be nice to have a gate between the back and front garden to make it completely pet and child friendly. Cannot wait to return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2017
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Willow Cottage. I'm a little confused about the gate which has always been there to make the back garden fully enclosed. I wonder if it had been left open and was resting against the flowering bush along side it. Glad all otherwise good. Thanks Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanbC61...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for relaxing.”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second visit to this lovely clean, comfortable cottage. Again everything we could want was provided for a relaxing break. The cottage is in a quiet area and the garden is perfect for seeing a lot of wildlife. We saw deer in the field as well as some birds of prey. We had a pheasant which visited the garden several times every day to eat the bird food.
The owners have a great place for couples or families here. It is spacious and well set out. One of the best we have stayed in and we will definitely return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Glad you had a great time at Willow Cottage. Thanks for the lovely review and we will look forward to welcoming you again.

Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finchduck...
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wildlife viewing spot with lovely spacious accommodation included!”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A really convenient, comfortable and spacious place to stay in lovely SW Scotland. Just off the main road with supermarkets etc in nearby Newton Stewart. You can sit on the sofa with binoculars and watch the hills for hours. Lots of birds, red deer and roe deer spotted, but no red squirrels at the cottage. However red squirrels are easy to see at the wildlife hide at nearby Kirroughtree Visitor Centre. Walks for all abilities are nearby and lots to do in the area generally. We very much hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind comments and top tip for seeing the squirrels. They really are a delight. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well appointed cottage in scenic location”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our third visit to Willow Cottage. Situated in a rural setting small hamlet. The last bungalow of a half dozen. The front over looks a mixed wooded hillside. The rear offers the bet views over a stream, farmland with the wills beyond.
Ideally located for our needs with interests in wildlife. Just off the main road it's very quiet regards traffic but with good easy access for visiting other locations. Just 3 miles from Newton Stewart with ample grocery shopping at Aldi and Sainsburys. Plus well located for visiting Stranraer, Port Patrick, RSPB Wood of Cree, Galloway Forest/Red Deer/Wild Goat range and Red Kite Trail, plus RSPB Ken Dee Marshes. Kirroughtree is just up the road from the cottage.
No deer seen this year from the cottage, which we have seen previous visits but at lest one Red Squirrel was in the garden every day feeding on the peanuts. Garden birds were varied and numerous, most notably Siskin 20+, Nuthatch 2+, Great Spotted Woodpecker x3, Blackcap, Chiffchaff, Willow Warbler, Song Thrush, various tits and Chaffinches.
We intend a revisit next year, probably a two week stay rather than just the one.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Thank you Ian for sharing your stay experience. We love the varied wildlife too, right outside the lounge window. We will look forward to welcoming you again next year. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky H
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant, central cottage”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage was very easy to find, just a minute off the A75. It's an end cottage, and when I drove down the drive I was surprised that it is fact a semi detached cottage and looked quite small. However, looks were deceptive, inside it was like a little tardis .
The whole cottage was nicely decorated and the kitchen had everything you could need, including a dishwasher. The dining room had sofa, as well as table and chairs. The TV in this room had a Wii games console and with games (dance mat etc),ideal if you had children.
The main living room had wonderful views through double doors and a large side window...bring bird food to put in the feeders...we saw lots of different birds including woodpeckers and nuthatches.
The garden is what makes this property special. It is an end corner garden, so it's completely private, not overlooked at all and the views are brilliant.It had full sun all day. We even saw deer running across the field. I think the gravel could do with a weeding, but I loved the daisy's in the lawn. Sometimes there were cows in the field next to the cottage and they would lean over and eat as much as they could reach ( much to our dog Daisy's shock- she's never been that close before and they were really curious about her), so it must be really hard keeping the garden looking great.
As I said at the beginning the cottage is minutes from the A75, so it's a great central spot for visiting Dumfries and Galloway, whichever direction you take.
A 25 minute walk up the road brings you to the Kirroughtree Galloway Forest visitors centre. We walked all the trails, although you can hire mountain bikes.
If I had to make any changes, it would be that there is a "lighter" alternative to the duck filled duvet.....it was really heavy and we were roasting!
Also it would be nice if there was more outdoor seating, the cottage sleeps 4, but there was only 3 small wooden chairs. After a full day out walking and visiting it would have been nice to have a comfortable chair to sit out in the garden. Next time we will bring our loungers. However, these are small personal points and I will definitely try and get back to this cottage.
I will also recommend it to anyone who asks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thank you so much for your very welcome feedback. We really try to provide everything we would want in a holiday cottage for ourselves and are glad to hear that you found the cottage well equipped and comfortable. As you have rightly spotted, the ever encroaching countryside is an endless challenge for us but we do endeavour to keep it at bay. The cows are regular visitors and seem to enjoy our garden too! We usually provide 4 garden chairs but one was damaged and so removed for safety reason. It is being replaced next week. We keep cushions for these chairs in the cottage alongside the parasol. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Willow Cottage and will look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Thanks Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage on the doorstep of activity central”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our week in Willow Cottage. Very spacious for a family of 4 with really comfortable beds and a great view over to the hill 'Cairnsmore of Fleet'. Fizz and baking on arrival was a nice touch and the cottage was really clean. There is lots to do in the area with lots of highlights: cycling in Kirroughtree forest, climbing Cairnsmore, ice-cream tasting at Cream of Galloway and the mighty zip wire at Laggan. I hope we can come back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Yes lots to do in the area. Delighted to hear you enjoyed staying at Willow. Really appreciate your feedback.

Katrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT FABULOUS COMFORTABLE QUIET COSY FRIENDLY NATIVES!”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We know Dumfries and Galloway quite well and always look forward to our return. D&G people are always very friendly. We are outdoorsy people so mountain walking, road cycling and off road cycling are our thing and a week of these can literally be done from the door step of this property.
Birdlife and ancient mixed woodlands are all around. Road links excellent.
The house is charming. I would say don't be disappointed on arrival - the front drive and garden don't do the rest of the property any justice (NOT a complaint!).
The owner and house keeper put a great deal of thought into the welcome and guests comfort throughout the property. WI FI reliable & excellent (I worked most days too!).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Willow and found lots to do in the area. It really is great for outdoor activities. We try to make the cottage really homely but note that the driveway could benefit from some TLC too which we are attending to. Thanks for your thoughts - appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;