We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful (double) stay”

Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A spur-of-the-moment decision to travel to Scotland brought us to Chipperkyle, and we are glad it did. Willie and Catriona are warm, kind and gracious and their homely guest house is grand, exceedingly comfortable and peaceful. We stayed in the red, corner room with beautiful en-suite bathroom and I confess that, whilst lying in the bath with a view on trees and the garden, I imagined myself to be someone else out of another time period altogether... The bath and beauty products are wonderful, and thought has been put into everything, including a supply of paracetamol in the bathroom. Catriona advised us very well regarding dinner and our Chipperkyle breakfast was sumptuous. We slept extraordinarily peacefully. As a result, on our return from further north in Scotland, we stayed at Chipperkyle again, a week later, and enjoyed our second stay even more than the first!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed for a wedding in the locality, and we were very well looked after by our hosts at Chipperkyle. We were given a very large comfortable bedroom with a huge bathroom en suite. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NG54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I am just back from the most brilliant weekend staying at Chipperkyle - it is stunning, and Willie and Catriona are the perfect guests. I am not quite sure how the complainant was upset by their stay - we were treated like royalty. We were served the most sumptuous breakfasts both mornings (have the Black Pudding), while the bedroom and bathroom are stunning - they both remind me of Downton Abbey. I cannot recommend Chipperkyle more highly if you are in this part of the world!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hughandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I are just back from a hugely enjoyable 4 night stay. The house is amazing, Georgian elegance in beautiful countryside, gorgeous views out of every window. Very very peaceful. Luxury furnishings and decoration. And the breakfasts are wonderful, good variety, high quality, very tasty. But the best thing is the welcome from Willie and Catriona, warm and attentive and also very relaxed, just right for a perfectly relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We had a fantastic time at Chipperkyle. The house and garden are beautiful, set in tranquil countryside and the house is very comfortable, decorated well, with lovely furnishings. The hosts were extremely kind and gave us excellent food. We could not fault the place or the hospitality. If you are looking for a really special place to stay, Chipperkyle is the answer. We will certainly be going back there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have just returned from a short break at Chipperkyle. It was a lovely experience. Willie and Catriona are excellent hosts - seemingly knowing when to be available and when to leave guests to their own devices. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast excellent - both in terms of choice and execution/presentation. My husband and I spent a lovely couple of evenings reading and drinking whisky in front of a roaring log fire. My 10 year old loved playing tennis - whilst my 12 year old was very taken with the history of the place - "like living in a National Trust house".
If you appreciate peace and quiet, history - and interesting hosts - then this is the place for you.
Very very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dundeemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had booked 2 nights at this Country House B & B, the first in the double room, the second in the twin room due to availability. We didn't mind the changeover as it looked like a jolly nice place to stay. We checked with the owner that everything was ok a week or two before we set off and were told there were no problems. We even phoned on the day to confirm our eta. When we arrived the owner showed us below stairs (and we all know what that means) and offered us the family's own bedroom which was basically, well, basic. The two beds had been pushed together so that you would have to climb over one other to get out of bed. The stairs and corridor were uncarpeted and smelled musty and damp. The bathroom was certainly nothing like the luxurious bathroom of the upstairs rooms. This room is not listed as available. The owner told us that he was concerned about our being disrupted by the move and said we wouldn't have to pay the £100 per night expected for the other rooms. We declined, obviously opting for the double as agreed. We were expecting to stay in the lap of luxury, not the servants' quarters. The next morning we packed up our things and the owner kindly offered to take our things to the other room for us. When we got back we were horrified to find our things had been taken below stairs! It was at this point that he informed us 'there had been a mix-up with the booking'. He pretended that he had told us about this. He most certainly hadn't and at first blamed his daughter then decided to take the blame himself. The way we were treated was absolutely unacceptable. We paid for the first night and basically just left. This put a dampener an otherwise lovely holiday which had started a week and a half earlier in Edinburgh to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. I would certainly not trust this chap and most definitely wouldn't stay at Chipperkyle again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Roxy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,078 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#2 of 13 in Castle Douglas
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in Castle Douglas
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#13 of 13 in Castle Douglas
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Airds Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 13 in Castle Douglas
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castle Douglas
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Kirkpatrick Durham, Castle Douglas DG7 3EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range: £108 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We only offer two of the bedrooms at Chipperkyle; they are both large and comfortable with private bathrooms. One is en-suite the other is adjoining. These rooms are west facing and are often flooded with sun so much so that we have to pull down the blinds - would you believe it in a Scottish home? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipperkyle Country House Bed And Breakfast Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing