We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Market Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from
A lovely weekend at the Market Inn. It was excellent value for money. Food was exceptional & staff very helpful. Will definitely be back. Bathroom was the only let down. It could benefit from an upgrade. However it was very clean.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    25
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
30
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Spent 4 nights here with friends for a short break exploring the borders. We found the hotel very comfortable and the staff very friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable, the meals were excellent and of the highest quality.The breakfast was a great start to the day, didn't need anything else for the rest of the day.The staff couldn't do enough to help us even to giving suggestions for places to visit.All this made our visit most enjoyable, wouldn't hesitate to return for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonmar127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just had a weekend stay in the Market Inn Hotel in Castle Douglas and I can honestly say this was one of the most enjoyable breaks I've ever experienced. The candle lit dining room is perfect, the food is excellent (there's no chance that you'll leave the table feeling hungry). The rooms are ideal and very comfortable. Most importantly the owners and staff go out of their way to make sure everything is as it should be and that you're happy. Just try it you wont be dissappointed.

Room Tip: Just tell them what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Dined here on Saturday night with some family as a table of 7 and the service was friendly and efficient. Lovely atmosphere inside, modern cosy decor. Comfy seats! Food was great, piping hot, some great dishes with local produce and hefty portions. I'm guessing not many desserts are sold as people will be too full up! Great value for money, and I would say its the best place to eat now in the surrounding area. I'm planning another visit soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SCMSCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennoxtown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Spent a night there recently to facilitate attendance at a family event in Castle Douglas. The ensuite room was compact but clean and the bed was very comfortable. The early evening meal was typically bar food but what good value and very tastely. The full breakfast was huge and really set you up for the day. The most significant part of the stay for me was the fabulously helpful staff who ensure your every need is met. This even included a failed attempt to get a taxi and a member of staff providing the transport. I have spent time in many hotels in various parts of the world and this is without a doubt the best in terms of the care and attention to details shown by the staff. Each and every one was a credit to the establishment. Will have no hesitation using the Markent Inn in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights to bring in the new year and cannot speak highly enough of this hotel its owners ,amazing staff and the friendly locals. Our double room was spotless and had everything we needed and the breakfast was really yummy with awesome haggis and will certainly return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed for only the one night while I was in town. The room was nice it was clean and so was the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept very well. However, the shower was basic and the whole bathroom could really do with a refit but it wasn't too much of a problem. Also when the blind is up in the bathroom you can see directly in from the street. I didn't try and breakfast and didn't like the fact that it wasn't included in the price of the room, however I did have some chips for the bar in the evening and they were delicious. I did like my stay the only problem for me was that the room was a bit extensive for the standard of room and service I received.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MovieMad96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
479 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
414 reviews
17.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Market Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Market Inn Hotel

Property: The Market Inn Hotel
Address: 7 Queen Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Market Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We a family run freehold hotel with 9 bedrooms in the heart of Dumfries & Galloway. A friendly welcome awaits you. We are situated 100 yards from the town centre, a 1 minute walk. We have a lovely restaurant where we offer homemade meals using locally sorced produce. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Market Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Market Inn Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing