We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value cafe”
Review of Mad Hatters

Mad Hatters
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good value cafe”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This cafe is a great place for a quick and cheap bite to eat. Their soups, tray bakes and hot and cold rolls are lovely. They also offer a selection of main meals, such as lasagne but I have not tried Any of those. It is nice to see that the food not over priced unlike some cafes elsewhere.
The interior is very traditional but clean and comfortable.
The staff are friendly and are usually quite quick at serving you but they can stand around and chat a lot if it is quiet.
Overall a nice little cafe that's worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodaholic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Scottish breakfast”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stopped at Castle Douglas for breakfast on a Saturday morning before making a five hour journey back home after staying near Portpatrick. Great breakfast that kept us going all day, well cooked and presented and reasonably priced plus friendly, attentive staff. I would stop here again and recommend it to others.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burn-Rubber-1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rural cafe”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

As with most Dumfries & galloway cafes it is more expensive than you find in bigger towns. It is clean and slightly above average for quality. The main thing I do not like is it allows dogs in which I do not like in a food establishment. As with most local businesses its more for the pensioner market.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Been in better!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I am local and don't frequent this cafe too often, the reason being is the staff.
Perhaps I just went in when they were having a bad day, but I got the impression that the lady who served me would rather be somewhere else. The tea and scones were average, but I went back another time when my favourite place was closed. A family came in ordered food off the menu and one of the waitresses was seen nipping across to the butchers shop to buy something, I presumed this was for their meal order as it was late on in the day.
Sometimes the attitude of local staff is what puts me off and I have found that some places in Dumfries and Galloway are bad for this.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 186514MargaretM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Greatl little place for lunch!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Visited recently with family on a rainy day. All other places were full and we got the last table available a the Mad Hatters. We enjoyed chips different dips, egg mayo was delicious as were the hot chocolates!!! A truly enjoyable little place for lunch, a quick coffee or a place to view the comings and goings of King Street in Castle Douglas.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlly411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mad Hatters also viewed

Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Mad Hatters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing