We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #3 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We recently had a weeks stay at the cottage at Airds farm and had a very enjoyable stay. Mandy was a perfect host and we elected to have a couple of evening meals and breakfasts which were great- fresh eggs from the hens on site! Airds is in a beautiful location and there is lots to do in the local vicinity including the Galloway Activity Centre, Cream of Galloway, Cocoa Bean Factory, lots of different walks and beaches. The cottage was comfortable and clean and well equipped and the hosts plan to update it. Mandy & Mick offer a very friendly welcome and Mandy is a super cook. A fabulous stay and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
56
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on an overnight, set in the most beautiful location, quiet and yet still so handy for the main routes. Received a friendly welcome after a long drive, rooms were very clean and well presented even tho in bed of some updating which the new owners are in the process if doing with some excellent future plans. Kids had an absolute ball with space to run around and animals. Breakfast was delicious and Mandy catered well for all our tastes even home made bread. Have booked for next year but will be staying longer to enjoy more if the area and pampering from the lovely hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alimc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our first trip to Scotland and our first b&b for years. It was a good choice, the room was nice and big with a great view. Mandy was very helpful with local knowledge, made us feel at home and did a excellent breakfast.
Lots of nice scenery and things to do in the area, hope to have a return visit in the future.

Room Tip: Go for the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Airds farm proved the perfect setting for a two night stay at the end of our tour of SW Scotland. The farm location with stunning views of the surrounding countryside and Loch Ken was quiet and relaxing but yet you are within easy distance of Castle Douglas and with good access to the Galloway Forest, Kirkcudbright and the Dumfries coastline. Our room with a view (to Loch Ken) was very well appointed, nicely furnished and comfortable. We were extended a very warm welcome by Mandy with tea and goodies in the conservatory. We thoroughly recommend Airds Farm for an overnight or an extended stay and wish them well with their future plans in this wonderful location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WboroSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent a week in the self-catering cottage, which is beautifully appointed and has stunning views over towards Loch Ken.
There are red kites flying round about, and our daughter loved helping Mandy with the chickens and the ducks. Mandy and Mick made us feel so welcome!
The surrounding area is stunning - a real hidden gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I enjoyed two nights with Mandy and Mick at a lovely quiet and picturesque old farmhouse with a great vista of a lake, Crossmichael and surrounding hills. They were most hospitable and are building up a great holiday site with its old buildings and peaceful well off the road location. A great base from which to explore the area. I heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This lovely bed and breakfast will only get better as Mandy and Mick proceed with all their plans. The warmth of their welcome and the beautiful situation make it a winner. Children will love the hens and ducks and Mandy encourages them to get involved at feeding times. We loved the comfortable conservatory with gorgeous views over Loch Ken.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
3.9 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
112 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
77 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
479 reviews
15.3 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
628 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airds Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airds Farmhouse B&B

Property: Airds Farmhouse B&B
Address: Crossmichael, Castle Douglas DG7 3BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airds Farmhouse B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airds Farm b and b offers comfortable reasonably priced accommodation in a scenic location overlooking Loch Ken and the picturesque village and church of Crossmichael. Ideal as a centre for enjoying the many places of interest in the surrounding Galloway countryside. Bird watchers, fishermen, walkers and mountain bike enthusiasts will love our quiet location convenient to Castle Douglas, Scotland's Food Town. Airdside, our 3 bedroom self-catering cottage, is situated adjacent to the farmhouse and is an ideal location for all types of holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Airds Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airds Farmhouse B&B Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing