We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #3 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So welcoming”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Mandy and Mick provided us with a home from home whilst staying in the area for a family wedding. The whole stay was a pleasure, wonderful breakfasts with constant flow of tea and coffee and delicious potato scones smothered in butter.

Thanks Mandy for letting us take over the whole place for the bridal party getting ready on the Saturday and kids running around as if they were at home the whole weekend.

Loved the views, the chickens and ducks roaming round and especially the lovely Mandy and her friendly chats.

Thanks Mandy hope to see you again soon x

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirdsFarm, Owner at Airds Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
It is great to have such a superb review and means so much to us!! Thank you.

It was a lovely weekend and the sun shone which was an added bonus. I enjoyed seeing you all in your bridal splendour and watching the bride and party leave in the cars to the wedding and it was great seeing the children having such fun on the farm!

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Airds one day and so glad the children are having fun back home playing bed and breakfast!

All the best
Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
53
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Me and my family had a fantastic stay at Aryds Farm. This B&B has a fantastic location over looking Loch Ken and the surrounding countryside. Our room was of a very high quality and had everything we needed. Each morning we enjoyed a great cooked Scottish breakfast and plenty of free flowing tea and coffee. A big thankyou to Mandy and Mick for making us feel so welcome and for doing everything they could to help us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoops0898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirdsFarm, Owner at Airds Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your great review. I am so glad you had a good weekend - it was great weather for you all which was an added bonus! Mick and I thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family to stay and hope you will all make it here again one day plus one!

With best wishes to you both
Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned home after a great weeks stay at airds farm
Mandy and mick couldn't have done any more to make us welcome. Great hosts
We stayed in the cottage, clean comfortable excellent accommodation Central to 4 of the 7 stanes cycling routes & Galloway Forrest ideal for any our door activities. A nature lovers paradise. We were very lucky to see a pine Martin on second day that was amazing!!!!
As well as red kites the list goes on.
Lovely chillout on the terrace in the evenings looking out over the beautiful garden
Perfect get away we WILL be returning very soon
Thanks for brilliant stay
Phil and Julie ;-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwjffwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirdsFarm, Owner at Airds Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. It was so nice meeting you both and having you staying in the cottage. Weather has been hotter than when you were here and set to last - happy days!!

Pine marten to add to the list of wildlife guests have seen whilst staying here in Galloway.

See you soon.

Best wishes
Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Mandy and Mick are very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasure. We will be back. Great views with clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and fruit salad straight from the garden

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirdsFarm, Owner at Airds Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. You were here for so long you became one of the family! Poppy missed you when you left - no more being spoilt. I hope we will see you here again soon.
With our best wishes to you and the family.

Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Mandy and Mick couldn't of done more for us during our stay. Lovely kind people, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, brilliant views, couldn't of asked for any more. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirdsFarm, Owner at Airds Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review - we really appreciate guests letting us know how they enjoyed their stay at Airds.

It was such a pleasure having you and your family here to stay. The sun carried on shining for some time once you left - we are lucky to have had such a good summer!



See you again soon.

Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Bright, Good clean rooms in the farm that has stunning views over Loch Ken. Mandy & Mick were fabulous hosts and the breakfast was delicious & filling. Stay helped by fabulous weather but I think the stay would be equally enjoyable if not quite so sunny.
Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsarahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Spent seven nights at Airds farm B&B while working in the area.
If you are looking for a comfortable clean room with a countryside view from your bedroom window, quiet, relaxed and safe, good food, very friendly and helpful hosts and all at a very reasonable cost, then this is the place.

ps. Try Mandy's smoked kippers with poached eggs (from her own hens and ducks) for breakfast, absolutely wonderful...............

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawsie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirdsFarm, Owner at Airds Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you staying here. I am glad you enjoyed your kippers and poached eggs for breakfast - you have started a trend!

Hopefully we will see you here again one day.

Best wishes
Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
8.6 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Thistle Inn
The Thistle Inn
#1 of 2 in Crossmichael
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
15.3 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airds Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airds Farmhouse B&B

Property: Airds Farmhouse B&B
Address: Crossmichael, Castle Douglas DG7 3BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airds Farmhouse B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airds Farm b and b offers comfortable reasonably priced accommodation in a scenic location overlooking Loch Ken and the picturesque village and church of Crossmichael. Ideal as a centre for enjoying the many places of interest in the surrounding Galloway countryside. Bird watchers, fishermen, walkers and mountain bike enthusiasts will love our quiet location convenient to Castle Douglas, Scotland's Food Town. Airdside, our 3 bedroom self-catering cottage, is situated adjacent to the farmhouse and is an ideal location for all types of holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Airds Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airds Farmhouse B&B Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing