We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous parc with great views but objected to paying extra for entertainment passes to see the show on Saturday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous parc with great views but objected to paying extra for entertainment passes to see the show on Saturday.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Great parc with wonderfully sheltered private beach and fabulous views from the caravan. The vans were very modern and new and clean and reasonably well equipped. Just the usual things you get at most campsites like tiny frying pan, knifes not sharp enough to even cut onions, no wooden spoons, tiny wine glasses. I phoned and asked if there were chairs on the deck and was told no so took our own only to find there were chairs there. The biggest bugbear was that they charged £8 per adult for a weekend entertainment pass then had the cheek to charge another £4 each for Saturdays entertainment which was ok but definitely not worth the money. They make plenty over the bar on a show night so felt a bit ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very lucky to have such wonderful scenery and the bonus of beaches just a walk away from the accommodation.

I am sorry that some elements of your stay were not as good as you would have expected. We try to equip all holiday homes with the basics, some holiday lets do not have patio furniture but this can be ordered from our reception. There seems to have been some misleading information given out on this occasion.

With regard to the entertainment we do charge for short-stay breaks and for longer stays with us. The pass enables the visitor to enjoy the entertainment during the entirety of their stay - an extra charge is made however to special shows. The weekend you were there a special show wa booked, hence the extra charge to the entertainment pass.

We do hope your holiday enjoyment wasn't spoiled and that you will be able to return to us again.

Thank you again for all your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    192
    44
    29
    29
See reviews for
380
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week. Was so impressed with the park. Very clean and tidy. We had a gold caravan which was spotless and virtually brand new. The complex was very good with a great little pool and arcades and again all spotless. The only slightly negative for us was we got a takeaway from the bistro and found the food very cheap a chilli chicken burger was a cheap chicken burger on a dry roll with no salad and toped with sweet chilli sauce so after this we did not eat anything else on site. Overall fantastic but good was a let down

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank stuland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay with us. So sorry to learn that the food was a disappointment to you. Our food is freshly prepared and our Bistro team take great care to provide value for money.

Your comments overall were much appreciated. We do hope you will make a return visit to us and have a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just back from a weeks stay, first time to this park. Went with my partner and 2 and 1/2yr old daughter was very impressed for the £150 we paid right by sea amazing view and even had balcony with gate so no escaping! Daughter really enjoyed running after bunnies going to the rocky beach to do a bit of rock pooling, sandy beach for castle building, and lots of space to ride her new bike! Weather was sunny and only had one rainy day. Went to cocoa bean that day well worth the visit. Pool great to have but had to get out after 20min chlorine level very high. Enjoyed the arcade room too. Only 2 things i would say though that did let it down was the restaurant joined some friends one night, we where told no can't book and too busy we came bk as daughter hungry. We had to wait 40min for food, when came adults luke warm 1 dish not right, daughters so boiling couldn't eat! For over 10mins! floor covered in food, plates everywhere staff clearly couldn't care less as said about getting wrong food and they said would have to wait another 40min?? walked off? so not impressed with that especially as food all brought in and expensive for what serving. Other thing would be to give soft play a good clean very dirty and such a small area? with so many wall sockets? i would knock down wall where have just two large game consoles and pad walls in baby bit. Other than these 2 let downs we will be back as is such a beautiful place, to just escape from it all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aimeefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Your comments were great - thank you so much for taking time to share your thoughts. Very disappointed that you had some problems with trying to use the Bistro. It is very popular with our visitors so on occasion the staff are under pressure but always hope to provide excellent service. Our apologies for not getting it right on your visit.

It is a wonderful park for visitors of all ages, from our magnificent entertainment team - to the on-park free entertainment - bunnies running about! As you mention there are things to do in the area too.

We read all the reviews and find them all helpful - so thank you again for posting yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from another fantastic week, weather was also fabulously warm. Plus points; Location, facilities, helpful/friendly staff, food in Bistro was delicious, pool/sauna, nice walks, veranda on caravans, clean and tidy site. Negatives; A few dead rabbits lying around, however were removed as soon as notified, caravan was untidy, old food in cupboards, windows unwashed. Would we come back again? Yes, without a doubt. Already looking to book a week in September. Well worth a stay, I would recommend this great site to anyone, families, couples, singles, it has something for everyone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your recommendation - and pleased you will make a return visit. All our teams work extremely hard in making sure all our visitors have a good time, so it is great to get such positive comments.

Much appreciated the time you took to make your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a great few days here.
My wee 6yr old boy had an absolute ball. The park is cleverley set up and nice and secure for kids to roam about. Guilty sometimes of being an overprotective parent it was lovely to have a place that we could let the wee one roam.
Amazing views from every caravan. We were in the blue zone and had great luck with the weather so can't comment too much on arcade and swimming but both seemed satisfactory.
I got very pleasant and prompt customer service with a couple of issues.
I did notice the kids soft play area went 3 days without a wipe down. Cleanliness could have been better and would expect so as off season.
It wouldn't stop me from being a returning holiday maker though.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Been coming to this site for many years,never get bored of the beautiful sea views and peaceful surroundings.originally came as a child with my family,now bringing the adult children and grandchildren.and the dog the caravans are clean and comfortable,we were lucky to have a lovely sunny week,swimming in the sea and using the lovely swimming pool free of charge.only irritation was the 8.30 closing of the restaurant and chip shop.not much entertainment on due to the football,not the sites fault though.plenty to do around this area as well,I would highly recommend this site.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gilbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed here with my family which had children in it wee took them to the club to see what entertainment there was and was told that it was 15 mins for children and that was it due to World Cup.. Which was showing in the bar also the entertainment (a girl dressed in normal clothes) wasn't great at all and the wifi was pretty poor also ... That night there was men driving drunk around the park also brandishing knifes and sizzors which was reported to the bar and police were called and they were removed next morning ! ...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewmontguire01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I am sorry you have had a disappointing stay with us at Auchenlarie. The incident you refer to regarding men drink driving and carrying BBQ tools was dealt with quickly and effectively. Unfortunately, incidents like these do happen, but fortunately for Auchenlarie - very, very rarely - but it is how you respond to the problem that is important. I am saddened that this incident is going to tarnish the views of future customers as a result of your comment.

WiFi at Auchenlarie is a relatively new service that is constantly being improved with new technology. Unfortunately, due to our location, signal strength has been an issue and certain areas do have intermittent service. Due to this, we offer free WiFi in our Complex and Sports Bar.

I have spoken with our entertainment team and they have reported that children's entertainment was on offer as usual, it did start a little earlier, but Lindsay (our wonderful children's entertainer) did her usual 40 minutes. Her clothing? Yes, it was standard uniform. Times for some activities - bingo, karaoke, were a little different due to the World Cup matches that were showing in our Sports Bar.

We do try to accommodate all tastes and ages, we have to be flexibe with times (due in this case to the fore-mentioned World Cup) and sometimes locations - moving entertainment to the Sports Bar in low season when numbers of visitors are lower.

I do hope you will visit us again. We appreciate you taking the time to make your review and hope you will be satisfied with my reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
15.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
82 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
78 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
77 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
466 reviews
15.3 mi away
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Airds Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 13 in Castle Douglas
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchenlarie Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Property: Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Address: Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and PitchUp so you can book your Auchenlarie Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Hotel Castle Douglas
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing