We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed for a week in August with teenagers and grandparents. The park is on a steep slope, so there is a lovely sea view for everyone. The staff were very friendly, suggesting places to visit and moving my parents to a new location, we could be closer together. I was concerned that the area would be too quiet for older children, but I was wrong. We had beauty treatments on site at a very reasonable price, which we really enjoyed. My daughter had a facial especially for teenagers. 5 minutes from the site there is a horse riding centre, which was very friendly and catered for all. There was also an activity centre 5 minutes from the site, and we did archery, mountain balling and land rover driving. There were many more activities to choose from. We also visited a distillery and watched traditional dancing locally. The boys enjoyed the David Coulthard museum which had F1 cars inside. We ate once on site, and it was ok, if a little basic. We found an excellent pub in nearby Gate House Of Fleet called The Ship Inn, which served very good quality food. There is a forest close by and we kept busy every day. Would recommed for families with young or teenage children.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wielun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 673 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed with our touring caravan for 5 nights in April this year, and overall we had a pretty decent break. Touring pitches were in an enclosed paddock of 6 vans and were on a bit of a slope, so chocks required. The site itself was clean and fairly well maintaned, and the leisure club and pool were good, with evening entertainment for the kids (and adults later). We ate in the restaurant on one of the nights and the pub grub style food was tasty and well priced. Two criticisms from a touring point of view; firstly the toilet blocks - quite small, a bit chilly and a distinct lack of hot water on occassion and secondly, it wasn't at all clear where to dispose of waste water and chemical toilet. Not major issues, but can be a bit of a pain.

Wouldn't put me off using the site again, as it has a good location for attractions like Cream O' Galloway and is close to a lot of cycle trails.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank calmkat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The site is on the side of a hill, giving all the caravans a view over the sea.
Unfortunately our caravan was right next to the busy A75 so it was noisy at night. The beach is small but quite pretty, down a steep slope - it could do with a bit of a clean up (quite a bit of rubbish lying around)
Staff very friendly. We didn't use the pool or entertainment facilities so can't comment on that.
Good value accomodation in a good area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltire100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
4.7 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
85 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
435 reviews
4.7 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
141 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
92 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Ellangowan Hotel
The Ellangowan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Creetown
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchenlarie Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Address: Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Castle Douglas
Price Range: £14 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and family themed holiday park. Activities for young and not so young. Children's entertainment daily throughout the high season, family entertainment each evening in the Starlight Suite - with live acts. Coastal views with beach access. Beautiful surrounding countryside, ideal for walkers, cyclists and everyone who loves the great outdoors. Many tourist destinations on our doorstep too. Surfside Bistro Restaurant and Surfside Bistro Takeway serving delicious home prepared meals. Sports Bar showing all the live sports action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Auchenlarie Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Hotel Castle Douglas
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing