We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhilarating”

Galloway Activity Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Galloway Activity Centre. We are situated on the banks of Loch Ken in south west Scotland and have an exciting range of activities for families, individuals and groups alike. Here you will find details of our services & facilities including activities, courses, equipment hire, accommodation and holiday packages. Choose from: Sailing, Windsurfing, Powerboating, Kayaking, Canoeing, Outdoor Laser Tag, Archery, Mountain Biking, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Giant Water Slide, Climbing and more...Our aim is to give you a memorable holiday in a safe and friendly family atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you.
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exhilarating”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We like camping. We were staying in the camp site which does not have power points, but we don't mind that. The facilities are great and the area is superb. There is other ways of staying, like the Mongolian Yurts and wooden cabins too. I have been in them and they look great. The camp site has the accommodation and water activities close together.
The team of activity centre staff is great and know their stuff. You can buy food from the cafe too. If you are into water activities, there are many to choose from, as well as activities on land, as you will find in many youth centres. There is also laser wars, always good fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Photoman747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    37
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Askrigg, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My 2 children aged 11 & 8 had a fantastic day, we did Clibing Wall, High Ropes and Zip wire, great staff ensured you felt very safe, secondly we did Laser Combat the kids loved this. Lunch in the lodge was brilliant just what you needed to refuel before the next 2 activities. We did Kayaking which was loads of fun including Kayak football. Last of all we did the Wobbly water park, lots of time in the water but this is a totally unique , we laughed so much on the different inflateables. The staff at the centre are extremely well organised, instructors are very friendly and above all helpful and attentive. We will be going back next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireDales B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Owner at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks so much for this lovely feedback – I will certainly pass it on to all the staff. We are looking to further develop the water park next year it has been a fantastic success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great holiday thank you”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Excellent staff who went of their way to make our holiday fun interesting and exciting, we stayed 2 nights in the Mongolian Yurt (needs a good clean, bit dusty) Then 2 nights in the large log cabin
My 3 children tried and loved all the activities, the instructors were particularly kind to my 3yr old boy who was too young to join in.
Even the bossy young girl climbing instructor who treated us all like children, didn't put us off, we had a good laugh about it later.
A very enjoyable holiday, We will certainly go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anton785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Owner at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks for the lovely review. The yurts have had fantastic feedback and have been incredibly popular! I have asked the cleaning staff to give them all a good autumn clean! Katy (the bossy girl) says she is sorry if this is how she came across. Clearly, health and safety is our top priority and we have to be very firm when giving instructions at height in order to ensure they have been fully taken in. She has in the past had fantastic reviews but obviously did not quite hit the spot with you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back.
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Cannot recommend it more highly. Beautiful spot. We stayed in a yurt which was quirky and comfortable. Ate in cafe three times a day and the food was always great - freshly prepared and imaginative, vegetarian options were great not a chip seen all week and still the children were happy!
We did a lot of sailing and the children (8 & 11) enjoyed all the activities but especially laser quest and archery. Great value.
Instructors are all patient and enthusiastic - an inspiring bunch of young people.
Loved it. We'll be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Owner at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks so much for this great review. Yes the yurts have been incredibly popular. Next year we hope to supplement them with two off grid eco cabins right by the water’s edge. We have deliberately steered away from chips and I am glad this is appreciated! I have passed your review on to the staff for which many thanks again.
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Another 'excellent' for GAC from us!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just back from an excellent 4 day activity filled break that provided a top class experience for a family of 6 (children aged 11 - 15 and 2 adults) and all at a very reasonable price. The centre were totally flexible successfully meeting every activity request we had (including extra sessions of laser wars as it was a fab outdoor set up). Sailing instruction was excellent with patient skilled instructors and good kit - we all tried a variety of crafts and stepped up to going solo as skills improved resulting in a RYA qualification for us all at the end which was an unexpected bonus. Plenty of activities to keep all members of the family busy if you don't want to just chill, the blow karting was excellent (though a bit of a trek) and we finished our stay with some mountain biking at 7stanes on he way home again fully organised by the centre to fit in with our plans. Every day was just busy enough, good lodgings, nice home made nutritious food (with vegetarian options) and lovely/quiet at night. Would 100% recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deepreddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Owner at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thanks so much for the great feedback – I will certainly pas this on to the staff – fingers crossed we are now getting consistently good reviews in the café. We are all still learning………..
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galloway Activity Centre also viewed

Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Galloway Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing