We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Galloway Activity Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Galloway Activity Centre. We are situated on the banks of Loch Ken in south west Scotland and have an exciting range of activities for families, individuals and groups alike. Here you will find details of our services & facilities including activities, courses, equipment hire, accommodation and holiday packages. Choose from: Sailing, Windsurfing, Powerboating, Kayaking, Canoeing, Outdoor Laser Tag, Archery, Mountain Biking, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Giant Water Slide, Climbing and more...Our aim is to give you a memorable holiday in a safe and friendly family atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived on Thursday to help with the 5 Castles Sailing Regatta on Friday and we stayed on for the weekend, then extended by yet another day. The youngsters competing on the Friday had a fabulous time and those who stayed for the weekend had a ball!!
We adults had a wonderful time too. The staff are so welcoming and helpful, the ambience is great and it's so relaxing!!
There's loads for youngsters (and not so young!!) to do.......as well as sailing, there's a climbing wall, archery, laser quest, mountain biking, wind-surfing, paddle-sports, wobbly water park.......it's a fabulous place!!!

Thank quine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks so much for your review, the regatta went really well and glad you decided to stay on and make the most of the weather we've been having. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Thanks

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 364 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

My son (15) and I have just had the most fantastic weekend at GAC. Lots of sailing both dinghies (Picos/Bahia) and windsurfers, climbing, laser quest, kayaking and wobbly water park. Blessed with mediterranean sunshine and good breeze it could not have been better. We stayed in one of their genuine Mongolian Yurts which is 5star glamping with real beds and a wood burning stove for the evening chill. The absolute best part, though, is the centre staff who could not be more pleasant and accommodating. Every request handled with a smile and on the spot no matter how busy they were. This really is the best of water sports/activities opportunities in the area. If you have kids, get them to GAC to watch them flourish is a safe, well maintained and beautiful environment.

Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Jim, thankyou so much for your kind words. It's really great to hear back from people and I'll pass on your comments to the rest of the team. Thanks again for your visit, we're really glad you decided to make a return trip and delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our holiday was amazing from the moment we arrived. We stayed in the Red Kite Eco Bothy with hot tub which was ready to use when we arrived. We loved every minute and made full use of the facilities. We went on a great bike ride in the forest and a canoe was a real bonus which we all loved, you really can't beat an early morning paddle. Our family certainly made full use of the hot tub enjoying a lovely glass of bubbly watching the sun set and taking in the atmosphere and surrounding views AMAZING. The location is stunning, the Bothy is in a very secluded spot, but you have the benefit of being part of this great Activity Centre. All staff were friendly and wanted us to have a great time, we really did not want to leave. Thanks to Richard and all the staff for making this such a special holiday for our family and we hope to return again soon.

Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Deborah,

Thanks so much for your review, we're delighted you enjoyed the eco-bothy and glad to hear you made good use of the canoe and the hot tub.

We'll look forward to seeing you again next time we're down,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We found the instructors highly knowledgeable, patient and we would definitely recommend the centre to anyone who is looking to have a go at the activities on offer.

Admittedly, we never stayed at the accommodation onsite (as it was full!) so we can only comment on how clean the centre was on both the days we were there.

Can't speak highly enough of the entire staff (Ben, Adam and Jordan receive special mentions) for the assistance they gave us over both days!

Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hi Jonathan,

Thankyou so much for your lovely review, it's always great to get feedback and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us. I'll pass on your comment to Adam and Jordan and hopefully we'll see you again.

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just back from a weekend staying in one of the yurts. Beds in yurt surprisingly comfy and loved cooking up bacon and eggs for our breakfast on the wee stove , eating them outside in the sun . The centre is so people and dog friendly and there is something to do for everyone . Even tho I am no longer a spring chicken I was talked into doing the climbing wall and am so glad I did . I didn't think I would be able to get to the top but instructors were so encouraging and helpful that I not only got to the top but I did the zip wire , crate climb and the leap of faith , felt great after it ! Scenery is beautiful and we were shown round one of the eco lodges which was so lovely we 've booked to go for a long weekend . Just need to decide what my next activity will be !

Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi Jacqueline,

Many thanks for leaving a review with us, it's always good to get feedback and I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and session on the climbing wall. Was absolutely delighted when you decided to book into the eco-bothies, we'll look forward to seeing you again and I'm sure you'll love them.

Thanks

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galloway Activity Centre also viewed

Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Galloway Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing