We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Galloway Activity Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Galloway Activity Centre. We are situated on the banks of Loch Ken in south west Scotland and have an exciting range of activities for families, individuals and groups alike. Here you will find details of our services & facilities including activities, courses, equipment hire, accommodation and holiday packages. Choose from: Sailing, Windsurfing, Powerboating, Kayaking, Canoeing, Outdoor Laser Tag, Archery, Mountain Biking, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Giant Water Slide, Climbing and more...Our aim is to give you a memorable holiday in a safe and friendly family atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you.
Muthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great day out at the centre July 2014. Didn't know what to expect when we arrived but both children got to do what they wanted, a taster sailing session and kayaking. The instructors were excellent and it was obvious all the instructors for everything that was on offer were as I stayed on land to watch and could hear all the other activities taking place. Mostly young but clearly knew what they were talking about and had bucket loads of enthusiasm. My children enjoyed it so much they wanted to stay for a try at something else and chose the wobbly water park. Just before it started however my son made the great move of locking the car keys in our boot which didn't go down well with me at all, mainly due to the fact he had earlier in the week lost our chalet keys!! The staff were fantastic though! My husband received all the help he needed with lots of offers of various techniques and implements to try and get in the car (the windows having been left slightly open) so that ultimately, with a boat hook, he was successful. Meanwhile the staff took the kids off to the water park and they had a fabulous time! So a huge big thank you to all, very helpful, very cheerful and very patient. I'd also like to add that we considered it great value for money. We will definitely be back as we holiday in the area frequently, but this time the boy will not be given the keys for any length of time!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RozAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi, thanks so much for your lovely review - what a nightmare with the keys, glad you got them back in the end. So glad to hear you'll be coming back to visit us, we'll look forward to it (and make sure there's a boat hook on standby!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    37
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
northumberland, england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another brilliant visit!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had such a good time at the open day last year we just had to return this year.
Once again we were not disappointed - good range of activities on offer, well organised, great value for money, clean site and friendly staff. Thankfully the weather was kind too, all in all another brilliant visit and 4 happy boys! The only problem we has was that we ran out of time!
Thanks to all staff - especially the guy on the leap of faith who did a fantastic job :)
We will definitely be back....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fabirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thanks so much for your review, what a great day it was yesterday and the weather was perfect. It was fantastic to see everyone having such a good time on the activities and a big thanks from everyone at GAC for coming along. We'll look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
1 review
“A large group of 9 and 10 year old primary children had a ball!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Loreburn primary 4 and 5 attended on their school trip and had a great day. Staff were friendly and helpful while teaching them basic skills. The activities of rock climbing, archery and mountain biking catered for all. Well done!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Autarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
It was great to see Loreburn primary up here, the children were all exceptionally well behaved and we really enjoyed seeing you. I hope everyone enjoys their summer holidays and maybe we'll see some of them up here over the summer,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Camping by the lake with added fun thrown in”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Six adults with 2 infants have just had a lovely 2 days chilling by the side of Lock Ken and with the added fun of a session playing on their Wobbly Water Park. What a laugh that is. You need a wet suit (available) a love of water, splashing and swimming and a sense of humor. The camping is well priced. The services good and the activities are really interesting and diverse. Not all need you to take your clothes off. Lots of accommodation options if you don't want to camp.
Loved it and we'll be going back for longer next time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, General Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi Vicky, many thanks for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we're so glad you enjoyed the wobbly waterpark. Will look forward to seeing you again.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A group of us went to the centre, primarily to sail, although we did some of the other activities too. We had a beautiful weekend of weather, and the whole group really loved the site. The centre is really flexible with what you want to do. We did sailing, laserquest, kayaking and the wobbly waterpark which we loved. We stayed in the lodge whilst we were there too, which was absolutely brilliant and very well equipped- perfect for us. The onsite cafe also serves great and reasonably priced food.

There are a lot of midgeys around so be advised to take something to repel/treat bites. You can also borrow wetsuits and buoyancy aids from the centre, which was very useful. The staff are really helpful and friendly, the location beautiful and I would recommend this centre to anyone thinking about going whether to learn something new, or do something you already know how!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi Ellie,
Many thanks for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you've had a good time. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galloway Activity Centre also viewed

Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Galloway Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing