We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously beautiful Ecobothy!”

Galloway Activity Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Galloway Activity Centre. We are situated on the banks of Loch Ken in south west Scotland and have an exciting range of activities for families, individuals and groups alike. Here you will find details of our services & facilities including activities, courses, equipment hire, accommodation and holiday packages. Choose from: Sailing, Windsurfing, Powerboating, Kayaking, Canoeing, Outdoor Laser Tag, Archery, Mountain Biking, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Giant Water Slide, Climbing and more...Our aim is to give you a memorable holiday in a safe and friendly family atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the ecobothy for four nights as a short break and enjoyed every minute of it. When we arrived the staff had fired up the hot tub, it takes a while to heat up but once hot it holds the heat and can be brought up to temp very quickly the next day. The tub is made of cedar wood and the smell was divine, felt like a real back to nature experience on the edge of the lovely Loch Ken. The bothy itself was well equipped and beautifully designed; all along one side are windows which let the light stream in all day. We had to move to the top bothy the second day as an item wasn't working but the staff and owner couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. For us there were so many positives to this experience, not only do you get the beautiful bothy that is completely off grid, no WIFI, no TV, but you also get the use of your own Canadian canoe and a gorgeous wooden hot hub. Even though it is off grid the bothy feels luxurious and comfortable and cosy in every sense.
I could not recommend this highly enough, Loch Ken is a stunning place and the centre and staff are excellent! We came away feeling very relaxed. A great getaway for couples or a family. I would most certainly go back.

Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Jayne, Many thanks for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. What amazing pictures you took...who said it always rains in Scotland!!!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 354 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

As a hotel devotee, I was more than a bit nervous about staying in a eco bothy with no telly and dodgy wifi, but I needn't have worried. The bothy was a delighful surprise- brand new, cosy, lovingly furnished and much larger than any hotel room. The Red Kite bothy is a well-kept wooden retreat which is nestled in trees only yards away from Lock Ken which is a peaceful and beautiful place. We were shown to our accommodation by a cheerful red-faced young man who told us about the variety of activites on offer, and that we could pick up a Canadian Canoe which was ours to paddle about in whenever we wanted. Oh and the wood-fired hot tub on the desk was a bonus. The kids bolted off to explore before they indulged in water fun, laser quest, mountain biking and just messing about on the water. The staff were really friendly but not imposed and we had a great time. I didn't miss the TV once.

Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi, Thanks so much for your feedback, I'll pass your comments on to Adam who showed you around. Glad you all had a great time and made full use of the facilities here. Thanks again for your stay,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Red Squirel bothie from 27th to the 30th June on an impulsive short weekend break. Never having stayed at the site before we were delighted to be accompanied to our accomodation to be shown around to find the accomodation well apointed with a lovely quiet view of the lock through the trees with a defined short walk to the shore line. Every supporting accompliment we required including an outside BBQ and charcoal, lighter fluid was provided. The solar electricty providing lighting and powering he shower and fridge. We made full use of the complimentary canoe with bouyancy aids. The highlight was the outdoor wooden log fired hot tub, sitting watching the stars with a bottle of bubbly was something we will remember for a long time. For people who are looking for a little luxury wih an eco slant well worth a stay.

Adrian & Louise

Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi, thanks so much for your review. It's great to hear you had a good time with us and we're glad the kids enjoyed the activities. Many thanks again for staying with us,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great day out at the centre July 2014. Didn't know what to expect when we arrived but both children got to do what they wanted, a taster sailing session and kayaking. The instructors were excellent and it was obvious all the instructors for everything that was on offer were as I stayed on land to watch and could hear all the other activities taking place. Mostly young but clearly knew what they were talking about and had bucket loads of enthusiasm. My children enjoyed it so much they wanted to stay for a try at something else and chose the wobbly water park. Just before it started however my son made the great move of locking the car keys in our boot which didn't go down well with me at all, mainly due to the fact he had earlier in the week lost our chalet keys!! The staff were fantastic though! My husband received all the help he needed with lots of offers of various techniques and implements to try and get in the car (the windows having been left slightly open) so that ultimately, with a boat hook, he was successful. Meanwhile the staff took the kids off to the water park and they had a fabulous time! So a huge big thank you to all, very helpful, very cheerful and very patient. I'd also like to add that we considered it great value for money. We will definitely be back as we holiday in the area frequently, but this time the boy will not be given the keys for any length of time!!

Thank RozAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi, thanks so much for your lovely review - what a nightmare with the keys, glad you got them back in the end. So glad to hear you'll be coming back to visit us, we'll look forward to it (and make sure there's a boat hook on standby!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had such a good time at the open day last year we just had to return this year.
Once again we were not disappointed - good range of activities on offer, well organised, great value for money, clean site and friendly staff. Thankfully the weather was kind too, all in all another brilliant visit and 4 happy boys! The only problem we has was that we ran out of time!
Thanks to all staff - especially the guy on the leap of faith who did a fantastic job :)
We will definitely be back....

Thank fabirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gac_lochken, Front Office Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thanks so much for your review, what a great day it was yesterday and the weather was perfect. It was fantastic to see everyone having such a good time on the activities and a big thanks from everyone at GAC for coming along. We'll look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galloway Activity Centre also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Galloway Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing