We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury accommodation”
Review of Summerhill B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summerhill B & B
Ranked #2 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury accommodation”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Summerhill is a luxurious home, lovingly and skilfully designed by the owners on the edge of the town. Our room, with own decking and entrance gave us complete privacy and the decor modern, stylish and of the highest quality; underfloor heating, huge bed and stunning shower-room. Facilities in the room were super - everything you could possibly wish for, and again, no expense spared. The hosts, Tina and Robin were extremely warm and welcoming and Tina's breakfasts just fantastic. Guests may also use the indoor spa pool - see, I told you it was luxurious! Castle Douglas is very conveniently situated to explore this beautiful area of Scotland and Summerhill, a perfect retreat for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
93
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This lovely little bed and breakfast is situated perfectly in the south west of Scotland. It's a little bit of luxury! The room we stayed in was gorgeous, and it had its own private entrance which was such a bonus. The bed was huge, so comfortable, there was access to a heated pool and the breakfast was amazing! The owner Tina was so welcoming and made us feel right at home too. It's the best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed in and would love to go again! The little touches like the ipod dock, free wifi and underfloor heating were the icing on the cake. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Summerhill Bed and Breakfast is a modern establishment in Castle Douglas and is excellently situated for exploring the beautiful Dumfries and Galloway countryside. The room & ensuite facilities are stunning - spotlessly clean and comfortable with underfloor heating in the bathroom. The Bed and Breakfast is run by Tina who is an excellent host. Her home-made granola followed by a hearty cooked breakfast is guaranteed to set you up for the day. Tina and husband Robin have a wealth of local knowledge about what to do and where to go and were a great help to me in planning what to do each day.

For those who have not visited this area of Scotland before, give Dumfries and Galloway a go - there is some stunning scenery here - The Galloway Forest Park, the Lowther Hills and the Solway Coast to name but three. And you will find Summerhill Bed and Breakfast a most excellent base.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Summerhill became our home for three nights while we explored Dumfries and Galloway, and Robin and Tina were the perfect hosts - warm, welcoming and respectful of your privacy. They both were brimming with local knowledge and excellent recommendations, the breakfasts were to die for and the B&B was stylish, comfortable (I've never slept in a better bed) and super clean. The jets in the spa were an excellent way to relieve sore muscles after a long day of hiking and mountain biking. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riederich
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

What a welcome to my first stay in Scotland! A luxury, modern and spotless room and a warm and caring welcome from Tina and Robin. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, homemade granola and everything you can imagine about a full Scottish breakfast. By far the best B&B we had during our eight-day journey in Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirgitSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We visited Summerhill as a 2 night stop over on our way up to Skye. This is just what we needed. We felt so welcome from the minute we walked in the door. Tina was so helpful and recommended places to eat and places to see during our stay. We stayed in the room at the top of the house, it was clean and very well presented to the highest of standards. Breakfast in the morning was lovely it really did set us up for the day.

We generally aren’t fans of B&B’s as we normally feel like we are intruding… This was most defiantly not the case at Summerhill. You even have your own exterior door to come and go as you please.
Thank you so much we will defiantly visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Summerhill re-sets the gold standard used to judge all other B&B's.
We were met with the warmest and welcomes and made to feel completely at home throughout our four night stay.
The room furnishings and cleanliness are of the highest standards.
The exceptional quality of the breakfasts was definately the icing on the cake.
We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.6 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Airds Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
15.2 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill B & B

Property: Summerhill B & B
Address: Summerhill Abercromby Place Abercromby Road, Castle Douglas DG7 1GA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Summerhill, a contemporary and stylish new Bed and Breakfast situated in the busy market town of Castle Douglas offering superior accommodation and the luxury of an indoor swimspa, a fantastic heated swimming pool with variable resistance currents and powerful massage jets. Summerhill is ideally situated for those wanting to explore the area including the Solway Coast and the nearby Galloway Forest Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhill B & B Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing