We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B I've stayed in!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summerhill B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summerhill B & B
Ranked #2 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best B&B I've stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Tina and Robin were wonderful hosts, extremely hospitable and helpful. They have a beautiful home, with stylish furnishings, all the updated modern conveniences and lots of light coming through the house. I felt extremely comfortable in the B&B and was very impressed, honestly the best B&B I've ever stayed in. They have a wonderful backyard as well and the breakfast was superb! Lots of local goodies and variety of food selection to chose from, perfect start to my morning and kept me full all day. The home is located close to Castle Douglas, with a good variety of independent shops and cafes, not to mention beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evizzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
91
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed here with friends during May and were utterly blown away by the 7 star nature of a humble B&B!!! This was day one of our cycling trip which had been arranged by our host Robin. pretty much everything that has been said already, we would say...congratulations Tina & Robin on an excellent business, thank you. Oh & well done Robin for organising our cycling itinerary too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raphael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Believe all the other reviews - nobody exaggerating here. We stayed here for 1 night on a cycling holiday. Fantastic standard of accommodation, best B&B I have ever stayed at. Worth a detour if you are within 50 miles. We stayed here with friends for one night as part of a cycling holiday in may. Everything was perfect - Tina is wonderful, really made us welcome. Recommended somewhere in town for meal and a pint - even offered to drop us in! Spotlessly clean, comfortable, breakfast excellent - homemade granola! We will be back thank you - pool is an amazing addition, shame we had no time to use it

Room Tip: All equally good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmellyWelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed for one night whilst touring around D & G Spring Fling. What a find. Very friendly welcome and helpful hosts. Excellent large room beautifully decorated with all facilities provided. Fab generous breakfast. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed in the BB for 3 nights and it was the best BB we stayed in ever. Great service with transport, great recommended walks, nice rooms and bed. The breakfast was healthy and loads of nice coffee which was a good help when we walked loads of miles..
Nice and spacious bathroom. Own access to the ground floor room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berg186416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed for a one night break, glad we made the choice to come here. The accommodation is beautiful. The first floor bedroom is very spacious, clean and airy. We were made very welcome and told the best places to go for a drink and something to eat. The breakfast was amazing and plenty of it, nothing was too much of an effort. The cost of the bed and breakfast was excellent value for money. Would definitely recommend and would love to return there in the not too distant future for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kabela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a mid week stay in this lovely B&B. Tina is the perfect hostess, very helpful as we arrived locally early and she allowed us to book in early then we could go off and do our own thing.
Our upstairs bedroom had some fabulous views across the fields. Very clean and perfectly decorated to a very high standard. .Lots of attention to detail !!. .a comfortable bed as well as a leather sofa to relax on.
The bathroom had complimentary toiletries, large fluffy towels and a large walk in shower. There was a vast choice of hot drinks and even two wine glass and a corkscrew for those wanting something stronger and a very comfortable bed too. .
As an addition there was a choice of DVD;s in the drawer for those stay in doors rainy days, which thankfully we didn't make use of and a girls best friend hairdryer. :)
We had our own access so didn't need to disturb Tina as we came and went and where also able to use the spa pool as and when we needed. A very nice touch were some pictures taken in the local area. This Home has been very well thought out so as not to invade guests privacy.
Breakfast was something else, we loved the home made granola and the cooked breakfast was fabulous with plenty of choice to suit all tastes
It got a 9 1/2 out of 10 from us.
Just a perfect setting for walkers or cyclists as only 10 mins walk from Castle Douglas and in stunning location plus they have cycles to hire on site too.
Hopefully it won't be too long before we return. . Thank You Tina !!

Room Tip: We chose the upstairs room, very nice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castle Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Douglas Arms
Douglas Arms
#1 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#4 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.4 mi away
Airds Farm B&B
Airds Farm B&B
#3 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill B & B

Property: Summerhill B & B
Address: Summerhill Abercromby Place Abercromby Road, Castle Douglas DG7 1GA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Summerhill, a contemporary and stylish new Bed and Breakfast situated in the busy market town of Castle Douglas offering superior accommodation and the luxury of an indoor swimspa, a fantastic heated swimming pool with variable resistance currents and powerful massage jets. Summerhill is ideally situated for those wanting to explore the area including the Solway Coast and the nearby Galloway Forest Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhill B & B Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing