We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short excellent”
Review of Summerhill B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summerhill B & B
Ranked #3 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I am a little late writing this review as my husband and I stayed with Tina and Robin on 7th, 8th and 9th September and due to Internet problems was unable until now to get on line. I have racked my brain to find something this B&B did not have and have come up empty. there is nothing that has not been thought of and nothing Tina would not do for you. She offered excellent advice on places in the area to visit, places to eat and information on the phenomena of the red kites which will be a wonderful memory to take home.Robin, though very busy with his bike tour business was not too busy to offer advice and help when we found ourselves let down by another B&B which we had already booked. So the truth is there is nothing their B&B does not have you will need or want, so my advice is make a booking and enjoy. you won't regret it.
P.S. breakfast is a delight. try the cheese and chive omelette, you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: There are only two rooms at this establishment. Ours was upstairs but perfect for our needs. the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

My son and I stayed at Summerhill for a cycling holiday, which turned out to be the best holiday we've had for many a year. Robin and Tina were perfect hosts and made us feel very much at home. Robin runs Galloway Cycling Holidays and organised great routes, avoiding the main roads, which were ideal for us given our more sedentary lifestyles. He provided not only excellent maps and directions but planned them so we could see a number of visitor attractions along the way including the Red Kite feeding station near Laurieston, which is well worth a visit. He also supplied the bikes, which are of good quality ( and comfortable saddles !), as well as transporting our luggage to and from Kirkcudbright and booking accommodation as required.

Tina's breakfasts were fantastic, with home made granola, fresh strawberries, brambles, peaches ... you name it. As for the cooked breakfast, well... Wow ! Easily the best I've had and much better than in some 5 star hotels I could name.

The room was spacious and well thought out, with each room having its own separate entrance so we felt we had our own apartment rather than simply living in someone's house. The finish was modern, spotlessly clean and great quality, with everything one could want, from comfortable beds, a separate settee, modern TV and DVD player, bathroom toiletries, coffee, tea and biscuits, and even glasses and a corkscrew if we felt inclined to have a glass of wine after a days cycling. There was even a spa pool to swim against the current in or to just relax the tired muscles.

I've stayed in many top end hotels through business, but Summerhill, and especially Robin & Tina's warm welcome and hospitality, make this the best B&B I've come across, ever. Who needs posh hotels when you find a B&B as good as this?

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and both are of the highest quality. Neither will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caldeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a very nice, new build, modern house. Tina was a lovely hostess, her breakfasts were delicious and the house was spotlessly clean. Castle Douglas is a bustling little town. It is close to the coast and we visited Rockliffe and Kipford. Before returning home we visited Threave Gardens, just a few minutes from Summerhill. This is a National Trust Property and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Booked this for my parents who absolutely loved the place and the hospitality. Having a very fussy mother who can be hard to please, I was over the moon at her reaction to this B and B. the best breakfast ever with homemade granola and the swim spa was most enjoyable. Better than any 4 star hotel and well worth a stay here.

Room Tip: Superior room has its own decking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My father and I recently stayed for 4 nights at this marvelous B&B and it's simply the best we've ever been to (and we've stayed at a lot over the years). Tina couldn't have done more to cater for any requests and the breakfasts were literally top quality. Won't hesitate to book up again if we're golfing again in south-west Scotland next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Fantastic -from the friendly helpful atmosphere ,the fantastic breakfast,lovely room .The whole experience exceeded all expectations and I have already recommended this B&B to my friends.Great value for money nothing is too much trouble for Tina -even ironing my wedding attire! We'll be back
Joan and Brian.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms so book quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here on my own on business, found the B&B to be really welcoming with great customer service. Good location off major roads. Excellent breakfast. Swimming pool was a total bonus. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
91 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
114 reviews
7.4 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
128 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill B & B

Address: Summerhill Abercromby Place Abercromby Road, Castle Douglas DG7 1GA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Summerhill, a contemporary and stylish new Bed and Breakfast situated in the busy market town of Castle Douglas offering superior accommodation and the luxury of an indoor swimspa, a fantastic heated swimming pool with variable resistance currents and powerful massage jets. Summerhill is ideally situated for those wanting to explore the area including the Solway Coast and the nearby Galloway Forest Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhill B & B Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing