We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”
Review of Summerhill B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summerhill B & B
Ranked #3 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Tina and robin provided exceptional service throughout our stay. The room was comparable to many four and five star hotels we have stayed in. Warm with underfloor heating, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, I could go on.
The breakfast was one of the nicest I have enjoyed.
Nothing was too much trouble for this couple and it showed in the product.
Finally , we were made to feel part of the family and cannot recommend this establishment highly enough

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank KnutsfordSurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife and I have been regular B&B users throughout Scotland for over 20 years. Summerhill tops the lot. The accommodation, food and friendly hostess is as good as it gets. Always prepared to do a littlle bit extra to ensure you get the best in comfort and service.
Will definitely go back

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for own access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Summerhill is near the top end of the Scottish B&B price range but – based on our overnight stay – it is worth every penny. The accommodation and furnishing in the ground floor Superior Double room were first class - we really were taken with the walk in shower/wetroom. There is as much internet communication and audio visual technology in the room as you would ever want. Tina was the perfect hostess – friendly, kind and extremely helpful – she provided us with a torch to help us on our walk into and back from Castle Douglas that night. She even cleared our car windscreen of ice the next morning and went to the trouble to post – first class – the pair of spectacles we inadvertently left behind – how’s that for service? The best B&B breakfast ever. Treat yourself to this gem of a B&B in Castle Douglas when visiting this lovely part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToGangAwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Thank-you very much to Tina for a beautifully clean and warm room, high-quality furnishings, crisp bedding and every need pre-empted. The breakfast was a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach! I particularly appreciated the lovely china, and also the home-made granola! Many thanks again Tina

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 414LizO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We arrived in Castle Douglas after a long drive, and found Tina had a room available for the night.
Tina welcomed us with a full explanation of the facilities, and also where to enjoy an evening meal in town.
The house is truly delightful, with modern amenities of the highest standard. The first floor room was spacious, and really well equipped, the choices of tea, coffee etc. were fantastic, as were the bathroom toiletries.
Breakfast was a special treat, nothing is too much trouble for Tina, and the delicious food was served with a lovely smile, she certainly is a perfect hostess.
Thanks again for looking after 2 weary travellers.

Colin & Catherine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin-Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Tina is an exceptional hostess - her meals are delicious, the design and decor of her home are lovely, her hospitality remarkable.
Above all I will remember her kindness and thoughtfulness.

Tina and her husband Robin made my stay in Scotland absolutely memorable.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms available so book early and often
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glenys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I am a little late writing this review as my husband and I stayed with Tina and Robin on 7th, 8th and 9th September and due to Internet problems was unable until now to get on line. I have racked my brain to find something this B&B did not have and have come up empty. there is nothing that has not been thought of and nothing Tina would not do for you. She offered excellent advice on places in the area to visit, places to eat and information on the phenomena of the red kites which will be a wonderful memory to take home.Robin, though very busy with his bike tour business was not too busy to offer advice and help when we found ourselves let down by another B&B which we had already booked. So the truth is there is nothing their B&B does not have you will need or want, so my advice is make a booking and enjoy. you won't regret it.
P.S. breakfast is a delight. try the cheese and chive omelette, you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: There are only two rooms at this establishment. Ours was upstairs but perfect for our needs. the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
483 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
502 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill B & B

Address: Summerhill Abercromby Place Abercromby Road, Castle Douglas DG7 1GA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Summerhill, a contemporary and stylish new Bed and Breakfast situated in the busy market town of Castle Douglas offering superior accommodation and the luxury of an indoor swimspa, a fantastic heated swimming pool with variable resistance currents and powerful massage jets. Summerhill is ideally situated for those wanting to explore the area including the Solway Coast and the nearby Galloway Forest Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhill B & B Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing