We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laurie Arms Hotel

Laurie Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurie Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We came by the Laurie Arms by accident on Sunday when we were out for a drive whilst on holiday in the area. What a lovely find. Although it was lunch time there was an extensive choice on the menu as well as traditional Sunday lunches. I chose the roast beef dinner and it was delicious. My husband chose the burger and he was very happy with his choice too. Great service and a pretty little pub. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stopped for a bite to eat on our way through the area. The pub was clean and the staff friendly. We opted for soup of the day which was very nice. Enjoyable stop. The drive was scenic so if you want a nice spot for a days drive this is it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ferrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was a welcome haven on a rainy evening while we were camping. The landlady was really friendly and the food absolutely delicious. We both had a scrummy haggis stuffed chicken and then a chocolate torte and a rhubarb and lemon sponge. 3 beers and a soft drink. total £40. very good value. Far more quiet than it should be. Go go go!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Good food freshly made, prompt service with a smile. A great selection of draught beers and a warm log fire. What more do you need?
Lasagne was home made but I should have ordered chips on the side. Scampi for my mother-in-law was up to scratch. My wife had homemade Shepards Pie and reported it delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We were not the only ones eating, another tourist family were just finishing as we came in, but the restaurant was unused as the pub was really quiet. The food was ok but quite high prices, however I am aware that prices in quiet areas are always higher as there is not the quantity of people to keep profits up. The pub is old fashioned (this may suit some people more) and there is no lounge. (I guess the restaurant was once the lounge) The staff were friendly and service was good however we left slightly disappointed.I have heard excellent reports of Sunday lunches (three courses for £15) so maybe we came at the wrong time of day?

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathKmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Out for my birthday with family.I have a 5yr old and a 2yr old who do not like to sit still.made very welcome on entry.offered toys forv the kids.gr8 choice the menu and specials .hubby and I had fillet steak met in the mouth.kids had sausage and macaroni portions just wright.service faltless.will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank littlenought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
548 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The restaurant looked full in the Laurie Arms so we ate in the bar. We were in the corner round from the bar and the view was not glamorous, but the big beautifully cooked lamb shank resting on a bed of delicious mashed potatoes was all I wanted to look at!!. The meal was accompanied by carrots, brocolli and ratatouille. Friends had haddock peas and chips (I tasted the fish and it was good, nice crisp batter) Gammon and chips and the sea bream with new potatoes all pronounced very good. My lamb was £12.95 which I thought was very good value.We couldn't manage a pudding, I heard the waitress say to another customer that the rhubarb sponge and custard was good. I liked the look of the choices on the special menu, baked avacodo with blue cheese stuffing and venison sausages with mash, We are on holiday in the area and will not be going back, unfortunately, for me to try these treats!!,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castle Douglas hotels
18.9 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Castle Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Airds Farm B&B
Airds Farm B&B
#3 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#4 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurie Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurie Arms Hotel

Property: Laurie Arms Hotel
Address: 11-13 Main Street | Haugh of Urr, Castle Douglas DG7 3YA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Also Known As:
Laurie Arms Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing