We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was probably a great hotel once.”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Imperial Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2013

With all the excitement of travel to think that you would be staying in the centre of a real castle was awesome. But Castle Douglas is the city's name (silly us). From the outside the place looked pretty good, typical of what one might expect to find. The rooms were a bit shabby, especially with carpet throughout, including the bathroom, which could have used a good cleaning.

We had dinner there one night and it was very good. Without a lot of clientelle, the place appeared to be struggling, but in spite of that the food was top rate. We only had wifi access in the bar area, unfortunately, but were able to try some of the local spirits.

The included breakfasts were filling and complete, including the haggis.

Here is hoping that the economy will turn and they can make a go of it. The golf history of the place should be a drawing card.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackDogCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

The only thing positive about this hotel was the bedding was clean , the bedroom and the bathroom were dirty and smelly .
The smoking area of the pub was below our window ,the noise of drinkers swearing and shouting was awful
How it has passed any health and safety checks is unbelievable
It was horrid worst than terrible

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank poppyUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We arrived for a meal at 6:15 pm and our meal was finally served at 7:10 pm, after the owners' family was served before all the customers. It reminded us of Fawlty Towers - they forgot to bring the menu, so after 15 minutes with no sign of life we got our own. The meal was dreadful - husband had steak and ale pie, which looked very dry and apparently tasted vinegary. My 'salad' was a few soggy leaves drenched in dressing and hidden under chunks of tinned pineapple, with a huge dollop of cole slaw to bulk it up. Husband said his beer tasted soapy. Must surely be health and safety issues with this hotel, especially after reading the other reviews after our visit. There were no other visible staff than the husband and wife 'team', who were too busy dealing with family to bother about customers. There must have been only one person in the kitchen as no-one was served any faster than we were - the only place we've eaten where we've needed the 'house' newspapers - two read from cover to cover! My only recommendation about this place is - don't go there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Janet_Coldghyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I don't mind old, and I don't mind quaint but our bathroom at the Imperial was gross. It smelled terribly of urine which may have been because it had an old, stained carpet in it. There was a lot of mould in the shower as well. The room was actually fairly large in European standards. The breakfast that were included were huge and very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed four nights at the Imperial in July
Nice clean hotel with a cosy atmosphere.
Food is excellent with a lovely roasts available
Our room was a good size, spotless and very comfortable
The hearty breakfast in the morning set us up nicely for the day ahead

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Very friendly staff food good it was dated but clean good value for money. Bed was good was a bit noisy from the bar downstairs but when you stay at a hotel it is not going to be silent! Could get parked right by the hotel doors and left the car there all night. The shower was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wal234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Prepare to be disappointed. Massively disappointed. I'm amazed they have clearance for a Health and Safety Certificate. It must be the only pub with a carpeted public ladies toilet that smells pungently of urine.

It is antiquated, but not in a cute way. It is out of date to modern expectations. Our double room was tiny, dirty, the bed small and the springs sticking through the mattress and the bathroom grubby with absolutely no hot water at 8:30 am for a shower and a smell of stench urine..

Plus be aware that the clientèle on a Saturday night or maybe any other night are intimidating and drunk by 9 pm and the management are in breach of their responsibility as premises or personal license holders for serving too much alcohol to people who are clearly beyond a level of social conduct. (As a license holder I speak with experience). There is a reason why the police are right outside this street waiting for trouble.

I'm so glad I was not there with my kids.

We did not eat because the experience was so off putting. Room was £70 in breakfast. £15 would be right but I'd never go back even at that price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edinburghtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castle Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castle Douglas
95 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#2 of 13 in Castle Douglas
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castle Douglas
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in Castle Douglas
687 reviews
3.9 mi away
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Airds Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 13 in Castle Douglas
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Castle Douglas
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 35 King Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range: £49 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing