We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Hotel

Imperial Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for work purposes, don't look for much but was disappointed with the standard, needs upgraded badly, ended up cutting short my stay going elsewhere, room was damp and the shower wasn't up to much at all, I won't go back there during future visits.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    16
    12
    14
See reviews for
13
24
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The bed was the most uncomfortable bed iv ever slept on, u could feel every spring in the mattress. The room was very cold as the heating wasnt put on till 4pm, even then it wasnt enough to heat the room. The bathroom was very outdated with a lot of mildew around the bath and sink. breakfast was ok but the food at night wasn't very nice. The staff were nice but the rooms and food let it down big time. Health and safty would shut this hotel down, loose wires and cables even the fire door in our room didnt fit .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjmclellan1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castle Douglas hotels

Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Great location for MTB weekend . Staff really nice welcoming bar . Rooms need modernised but for couple of guys for a place to sleep it's fine Great breakfast castle dougkas at night is a bit dead though

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Colinnclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my husband, 4 year old son and 2 year old daughter. What can i say a lovely place that was much bigger than it looks from the outside. The room was clean and beds very comfortable and the breakfast was beautiful but it is the staff is where the place really shines. They couldn't do enough for our family. A huge big thanks to everyone at the hotel, next time i visit my brother i will not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallsend tyne&wear
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

me and the missus,decided on weekend break round the borders,and booked the imperial hotel in castle douglas on the spur of the moment..£59 for both of us bed and breakfast...staff were more than welcoming..not to keen on evening meal there,but the brekky was first class,and started the cold november day off well....don,t expect a first class modern room here,as the hotel is a fair age,it,s very dated,but thats what we like in a hotel..the room it,self could of done with a refurb,and the bathroom had a lot of black grime round shower area..,plenty of bedding in a comfortable bed..the heating went off,but they immediatley brought us some electric one,s in,which did the job champion,,as i say dont expect the savoy.....we stayed on a sat night,and in the lounge there was a bit music for the younger generation,but come midnight all went quiet and did,nt bother us in the slightest...must say though the staff were first class and could,nt fault them whatsoever..would def stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gfidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Imperial Hotel in Castle Douglas has to be the friendliest in Castle Douglas.We arrived with a party of 16 (Adults and children) for a two night stay on family business and cannot thank them enough for the way they chased after us all! Nothing was a problem from Breakfast time through to the late hours of the night. A big thanks to the breakfast staff, Bar Staff, restaurant staff, kitchen staff and management all of whom went that extra bit to look after us. The hotel is a lovely old building and maintained to the best of their ability.Even the locals made us welcome!
Cannot recommend it enough both for families or couples...well done again team :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

With all the excitement of travel to think that you would be staying in the centre of a real castle was awesome. But Castle Douglas is the city's name (silly us). From the outside the place looked pretty good, typical of what one might expect to find. The rooms were a bit shabby, especially with carpet throughout, including the bathroom, which could have used a good cleaning.

We had dinner there one night and it was very good. Without a lot of clientelle, the place appeared to be struggling, but in spite of that the food was top rate. We only had wifi access in the bar area, unfortunately, but were able to try some of the local spirits.

The included breakfasts were filling and complete, including the haggis.

Here is hoping that the economy will turn and they can make a go of it. The golf history of the place should be a drawing card.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackDogCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 35 King Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing