We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golfing trip”
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thorton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“golfing trip”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Fantastic hotel, friendly staff and excellent food. Myself and 3 other friends have been going to the Kings Arms for over 5 years and we always have an excellent stay. Dave (the owner) sorts all the golf out for us and finds us some excellent courses, always knowing the local course conditions. The courses in the area are excellent and very good value for money, the hotel is well placed to reach any of them within 40 minutes. The hotel is excellent value for money for DBB with a very good menu and generous portions. Thanks again Dave.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    32
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
26
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed last weekend during a golfing trip. Comfortable rooms and good food. The full scottish breakfast sets you up for the day. David and Pauline are excellent hosts and all the staff were great. Genuinely nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this to anyone. A wonderful and comfortable base for golfing, as a holiday base or for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here for one night on a brief trip to the area.....rooms were dated but very clean and comfortable,staff were very welcoming and helpful,we all enjoyed eating in the restaurant and the full scottish breakfast on the Sunday morning was plentiful and tasty

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have our bimonthly meetings here for the Dumfries and Galloway Mumpreneur network group. You couldn't ask for nicer hosts. The management and staff are delightful and nothing is too much trouble. You won't be disappointed coming here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mf4880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had a meal here with 28 friends to celebrate my 40th Birthday, Thanks to David and his staff for a lovely evening, food was excellent and staff as always were great. Dining room perfect for small gatherings like this, private but not far from the bar. We had a set menu which was very reasonably priced.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

got a fantastic 2 night deal with breakfast for both mornings and one dinner included, the dinner had only 2 choices hubby had the chilli and i had the fish which was amazing, would have preferred more of a choice with this deal. staff were very nice, log fire was a nice touch, wifi signal was very poor, could be doing with getting it fixed. in a great location for exploring other areas. rooms are very small. waiting on another deal, will book again. deal is for 2 ppl only would be good if they done a family deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria7mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were at the above on Wednesday for a 70th birthday dinner for a cousin. It was a lovely night, food was very good and plenty to choose from. The service was excellent more so when there were 14 of us and choosing from the a la carte as well as a specials menu. This is a family run business would certainly recommend for food, service and decor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scamp116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.4 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
465 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dalbeattie
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Property: Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 31-33 St. Andrew Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1EL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing