We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another warm welcome!”
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Previously I'd only visited for evening meals/ beer which inspired us to stay over this time. The usual warm welcome from everyone, good food and beer, happy days! We were mountain biking so the bike store was a blessing (thanks to the weather we didn't use the drying room). Two twin rooms worked a treat for us. I've seen a moan about noise from the bar - we were in bed for 9.30 both nights and didn't hear a thing. I think the only other thing is the breakfast - we all had different options which set us up marvellously for the day. We'll be back for the same again later this year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindleyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Kings Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

This used to be the best bar food in Castle Douglas but now is so disappointing. Many main menu items seem like 'boil in the bag', some from 'specials' are sold out. The Kings Arms Special Burger is an overcooked, tasteless mini burger on a bun filled with salad and topped with battered onion rings on a plate over-filled with salad - totally horrible and not even worth half the price! Avoid this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank AnnaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for my cousins wedding it was great owners really welcoming and friendly and staff couldn't do enough for you. It was a sport themed hotel we had golfers in toilet seat. Room was clean tidy beds were so comfy breakfast was great recommend full Scottish with haggis and all. Definitely going to stay here again ideal as a base for Dumfries and Galloway would strongly recommend it for either overnight or long weekend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank jsney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This Hotel only goes to prove that you should eat locally and in your own region. From the minute my partner and I walked in the door we were greated with a warm welcome by both members of staff. Great range of wine when asked which to have with lunch, quick and efficient service and the food was amazing, obviously all freshly produced. Staff were very knowledgable about their job and obviously didn't hide the fact that the one thing I asked for wasn't homemade, ( sorry I always ask that question ) Wd jst like to thank you all for a superb lunch and great service and the fact that we only stay about 25 miles away and my partner wants to come for the night for the food and drink. Great job girls.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Merleanne1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is clean and tidy, the staff are attentive and friendly, rooms are well appointed and contain all you will need. A limited but adequate menu was provided for our package and I had no complaints from my 21 members.
The Bar and wine prices are par for the course but the beer is a little more-ish and i couldn't help drinking more than my share.
All in all the Kings Arms offers value for money, in a friendly casual environment, i would stay again and can recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: they are all the same standard i had room 5, twin ensuite
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidShallcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

in my home town of castle douglas there is one gem of a place for lunch and evening meals that is the kings arms on st andrews street this family run hotel has first class reputation for top food in the food town as well as very many regular dinners and guests returning the food is pleasantly priced so wont break the bank with a well stocked bar the lunch time trade is usually busy food is always first class and service is faultless all in all this is the no 1 hotel in castle douglas for lunch -dinner or even a few nights stay

Room Tip: booking is advisable foe evening meals lunch time usually busy but the staff and hotel owner will ma...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

have just booked my extended families third visit to the kings arms fantastic hotel very helpful staff as we have an age range of one year old twins up to 80 year old grandparents excellent food lovely rooms i highly recommend the kings arms

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.3 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
492 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
483 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dalbeattie
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 31-33 St. Andrew Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1EL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range: £50 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing