We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Choice”
Review of Douglas Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Douglas Arms
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Value Choice”
Reviewed 21 October 2007

This hotel was everything we needed when we recently toured Dumfries and Galloway. Warm, clean-certainly no evidence of the cobwebs mentioned in a previous review-and decent food. Certainly not pretentious, just good value for money. We had 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast for under £200.
Staff were all friendly, always had a civil word for everyone, and helpful with any queries or problems.
The room was dated, but clean and comfortable and very warm-there was a thermostatically controlled radiator-so no chance of burning oneself as mentioned in another review. The bathroom again was very clean, with a power shower.
The hotel is gradually undergoing renovations, but we were not disturbed by any of this. The bar is comfortable, furnished mostly with sofas, and has an open fire, although this was not lit while we were visiting.
The hotel is well situated in the main street of the town, handy for all amenities.
Secure parking is available off-street.
On booking it may be advisable to ask for a room away from the main street as it is quite busy-we had a room at the back of the hotel, and were not disturbed by any traffic noise at all.
All-in-all, a good budget choice hotel

  • Liked — Warm and comfortable
  • Disliked — No fire lit in the bar!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zilsniggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    64
    22
    15
    22
See reviews for
24
95
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

If a relaxing weekend, at a nice hotel, with friendly service is what you are looking for, this is definitely not the hotel for you. The staff and the owners know nothing of looking after their guests or dealing with issues that may arise. In fact the last thing they seem to care about is the customer.

Myself and my partner try to get away at least ones every 2 months for a short weekend break, and have stayed in many hotels throughout Scotland. I am sorry to say this is the worst experience we have had.

The first issue that we had was with a discrepancy in the cost of the room we were to pay on our departure. The reservation we had made was online and was for a standard room, as this was the only way we were directed by the website. We did look at the option of taking the 4 poster room in the hotel, but decided against this. When we arrived we saw that we were actually paying 15% more than the normal tariff the hotel charged. When this was brought to the attention of the proprietor, after a lot of arguing we were simply told this was the amount we had to pay as a “mark-up for using the online system”. This was so that the hotel did not have to employ someone to sit and man the phone all day (nice that we have to pay more so the hotel can cut costs). When it was pointed out that such a mark-up was not on the four-poster room, we were simply informed that, that was the rate on the sheet so that was what we had to pay. On our return we again priced another two night stay in the hotel over the same days of the week and were not surprised to see that the price to pay had dropped again to the normal room rate???

The room we were given during our stay was not of the quality you expect when you pay even the normal rates the hotel charged (even less when you have been over charged). The biggest issues lay in the bathroom where tiles were missing, and in some places there were actually no tiles, just bare unpainted plasterboard. Where the shower curtain was in desperate need of repair, which I did myself, and where there was dripped pain on the bathroom fittings. The heater in the main room, when switched to full, to heat the room, got to such a temperature that brief touches left painful red marks, and I would do greater damage if you were to accidentally fall against it prolonged period. Even pointing this out to the proprietors elicited no more than a statement that refurbishment was underway and had been done in 95% of the hotel but not that room. Not even an offer to move rooms, which I had to ask for but was refused because “none were available”, even though before that we had been informed by the receptionist that another such room was available.

The last thing I can say is, take the advice the receptionist said to us in all seriousness, if you were looking for better service or better quality, go to Dumfries. The only thing I would add to that is you don’t need to go that far for a friendlier reception, simply walk down the street and try one of the other B&B’s or hotels in Castle Douglas. Believe me you will not regret taking this advice, and will have a lovely time in a super little town.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScotsTraveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castle Douglas hotels

redcar
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2007

just returned from the douglas arms.paid a reasonable price on last minute dot com.hotel on the main street and close to all amenities .secure parking and staff who are very helpful.breakfast is good.paid for a lovely meal.drinks are reasonably priced and pleasant bar to sit in..granted the room decor is slightly dated in places but when we had a problem with the room we were put into a superior room for the night which was superb and showed what the hotel has to offer which i presume is at a price.

  • Liked — location and food
  • Disliked — dated bedroom
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsdRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2006

Stayed here overnight last month and found a pretty typical 2 star inn. The staff were all friendly and helpful enough - if you asked. No info given at check in and nothing said at check out! The room was clean enough but the bathroom was in need of a good scrub! We didn't eat here but had a drink in the busy bar. Breakfast was good value for the £60 paid. However, the public areas clearly never see a duster and we found the most amazing cobwebs in the corridors! Not much choice in this part of the world but a B&B might be a better choice.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLarenFamily, Robert & Marie McLaren, Owners at Douglas Arms, responded to this review, 16 October 2006
I have just discovered this site and must respond to the comments above. My wife and I took over the Douglas Arms Hotel in March 2006, just 7 weeks prior to this guests visit. We would have to concede that the experiences listed were typical of a hotel which had not received any TLC for some time. Staffing levels and standards at the time were to say the least basic, however, I am very happy to report that in the short time we have now been here, we have made great strides forward in both the level of service and quality delivered at the Douglas Arms Hotel. We are now half way through our redecoration programme, which we hope will upgrade the rating of our rooms when complete (currently ungraded, through choice) Our food would be very difficult to beat in Castle Douglas for both quality and value for money and I am happy to say that our public areas and bedrooms are now cobweb free thanks to our very competent housekeeping team who joined our team in May 06. It is always disappointing to hear or read negative comments regarding your own establishment, however, we are confident that these issues are a thing of the past and would strongly urge this traveller and all other travellers on this site to evaluate the Douglas Arms on it's current performance and not from the above report, which was from a time when we were still trying to find out what was wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 June 2005

We have just returned from a very enjoyable 3 night stay at the Douglas Arms Hotel.The hotel is located in the heart of Castle Douglas on the main street and as such, is within yards of interesting shops and restaurants for those wishing to eat elsewhere in the evening.Not that this is necessary as the hotel provides a good choice of tasty meals at reasonable prices.
The accommodation itself was clean and comfortable and we found the staff to be cheerful and helpful at all times.The breakfast consists of the usual choice of fruit juices/cereals along with a very substantial Scottish breakfast or for those wishing to remain within the clothes they arrived with, a choice of smoked haddock or kippers, all served with plenty of toast/tea/coffee.The on-site car parking is secure with the gates being locked at night.Any downsides - well maybe the odd lick of paint may be due in the bedrooms and light sleepers should request a room at the rear of the hotel but it would be churlish to find fault especially for 60 quid a night (double room).

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
482 reviews
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
423 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
12.6 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Arms

Property: Douglas Arms
Address: Main St., Castle Douglas DG7 1DB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Douglas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Arms Castle Douglas, Scotland
Douglas Arms Hotel Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing