We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend”
Review of Douglas Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Douglas Arms
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Clydebank, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly recommend”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We took up the same discount two night deal many other reviewers have and we're absolutely delighted with our short break. The room was smallish, but clean and newly decorated with a lovely big bathroom. The staff from the welcome, through both dinner services and at departure were a real joy. Everyone had a smile and seemed genuinely happy to help. A great atmosphere around the place.

Our meals on both nights were the stand out. The meals were really great, moreso considering the excellent value for money. It sounds silly, but as well as being freshly prepared and really delicious, our food arrived piping hot and perfectly cooked for every course even with the dining room very busy. I can't recommend enough in this respect.

Castle Douglas is a nice town, but the access to Galloway national park, the Solway coast and down into Cumbria make the hotel brilliantly placed.

Thoroughly recommend and we'll be returning even without the discount deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie_A_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    64
    22
    15
    22
See reviews for
24
95
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

just returned from a two night break at the Douglas Arms Hotel. It was a todays great deal offer,breakfast on both mornings and dinner first night.Our room was lovely,big clean bathroom my only criticism was the pillows were a bit lumpy but that's a minor thing.The food was really great ,breakfast[ made to order] both mornings and dinner on first night. My husband had a starter of breaded mushrooms and a garlic dip then fish and home made chips and I had sticky chicken which was amazing then cheesecake we really enjoyed it. The staff and the locals who used the hotel were very friendly we had a good laugh in the bar at night and the bar prices were very good. I wish I had seen the review about car park before I parked under cover and car got plastered by pigeon poo lol. Overall we had a lovely time and would recommend it to anyone and wish them all good things for the future.

Room Tip: we had room 17 which was spotless ,big bathroom very nice cant comment about any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nance300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

stayed at douglas arms for two night 12th and 13th aug 2013 on a "great deal". was not expecting much tbh. what we got was amazing from start to finish. staff were awesome,food fanatstic and even though some parts of hotel need upgrading its a great wee gem of a place. dinner on the first night was part of the deal and is was faultless and we decided there and then we,d be eating there the second night also. breakfast was amazing,and there was so much on offer and all cooked to order. we ate so much we didnt need to eat again till dinner!!! dinner second night was again fantastic. the staff throughout are so helpful and friendly,nothing was too much bother for them. we discovered that the young couple had just taken over the lease of the hotel in jan 2013 and are slowly upgrading the whole hotel and I,m positive they will continue to get more and more successful. they deserve to do well as they and all their staff put 200% into making their guests stays a fantastic relaxing and enjoyable experience. we will most certainly be back. we wish michael and lindsey all the very best for the future

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qashqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Just back from a two day break at the hotel. Hotel is situated in the middle of the high street which is ideal. It has a car park at the side however be careful where you park as our car got plastered by the pigeons that inhabit the roof over the car park! Park in the spaces not covered by the roof. This was only wee negative of hotel and our full stay. Our room was clean and freshly decorated. The ensuite was lovely and power shower was great. The food in the hotel is amazing!! The breakfast was lovely and great quality of produce but the evening meal was fantastic. The menu is so reasonably priced and I guarantee you will not be disappointed. According to the staff the chef is new and young I hope they can keep him because he is great. The staff in all departments of the hotel, restaurant and bar were friendly polite and helpful.The locals in the bar were also friendly and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely return again and will be recommending the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coling1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed for two nights kindly gifted by my sister for our anniversary. The hotel has recently been taken over by a lovely young couple and other family members who are doing a beautiful job of gradually upgrading the place. Beds extremely comfortable and nice wee touches of bottled water, chocolates and tea/coffee and biscuits in room. Lovely toiletries too! The restaurant food delicious and beautifully presented and service absolutely brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who all seem to 'multi task'. Will definitely be back for a stay, this hotel really deserves to do well with all the effort they put in. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We travelled through to the Douglas Arms Hotel in May. We had managed to get a cheap deal through one of the many deal sites. Due to this expectations were not that high.

We arrived around 8pm and were greeted by a very friendly member of staff. We were shown to our room & we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, if dated. The bed was comfortable and the shower/bathroom was well appointed.

We had an excellent nights sleep which was un disturbed. On the Saturday we attended breakfast and found this to be of a good quality. The service again was second to none.

We spent a lazy Saturday around Castle Douglas. Found a couple of nice pubs and the area was full of friendly people :0)

Dinner on Saturday was at the hotel and was of excellent standard. After dinner we visited the bar and lost a few hours there :0)

Overall it was a good weekend and we would visit again, with or without a cheap deal!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We are just home from a 2 night stay on a "deal". Value for money for the deal is excellent. The 2 course meal with wine on the first night was tradition pub grub done well. And a generous portion for our 2 year old from the childrens menu. The dining room is decorated well. Our room was clean but does need some money spent in it to redo the bathroom and replace the matresses in the room and carpets and curtains throughout the hotel. The shower was not very powerful. Wifi is available but not strong in the bedrooms. What was great for us was the communal lounge area up stairs which was close enough to our room so we could put our 2 year old to bed and take the monitor and relax while she slept. Breakfast in the morning was good. Small buffet selection of cereal, yoghurt and fruit and then traditional cooked breakfast. Staff were all very friendly. Would stay again on a deal but just now would not pay full price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne1978_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
479 reviews
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
414 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
119 reviews
12.6 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Arms

Property: Douglas Arms
Address: Main St., Castle Douglas DG7 1DB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Douglas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Arms Castle Douglas, Scotland
Douglas Arms Hotel Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing