We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply fantastic value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Douglas Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Douglas Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
erskine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

A bit tired but happy old hotel. From reception,through meals, to departure,the staff were wonderful. Our room was a good size, well equipped with a large en suite bathroom.The hotel is old and in a built up main street therefore is quite dark. It is however warm and comfortable. The meals were the best part- dinners and breakfasts excellent with very attentive prompt service. We were on a Glasgow's great deal and it was indeed that.
Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris-hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    64
    22
    15
    21
See reviews for
24
95
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just returned from a two night short break through Glasgow's Great Deal. Had a lovely time in the Douglas Arms Hotel.Room was clean and well appointed, food was freshly cooked and delicious and staff were friendly and very helpful. Would certainly recommend it and hope to return. Value for money was unbelievable!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmo493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Friendly staff, lovely rooms and great food. Very child friendly hotel, a key thing for us, and with a central location, and parking at the back, ticked a lot of our boxes. We went to Cream o'Galloway Farm and there was loads to keep our 5 year old happy. We are already booking up for a return visit to the Douglas Arms Hotel, and sampling more of their delicious food and fabulous service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiMcK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at the Douglas Arms for 2 nights. Hotel could do with being updated & facilities were very basic. We stayed in room 17 which was small but liked the design of the room e.g stairs leading down to the bathroom area. We had dinner at the hotel restraunt both nights and meals were delicious. Staff were very friendly especially the restraunt staff. The surrounding area was ideal if you are looking for a quiet break away but there was not many things to do for example bars & restraunts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, spotless, well appointed rooms, and great food. Step out the front door and you are on the main street in the town. It is central, so there are all sorts of places within easy driving distance. We went to the Cocoa Bean Factory - the shop selling their home made chocolates is fabulous- and then on to Gretna Gateway. The food is excellent and they do not stint on portions. I don't think I cleared my plate once while I was there. When we were leaving the owner, Lynsey, was kind enough to print off a map showing me how to join the M74 motorway. I will definitely make a return visit to the Douglas Arms Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I looked at the tripadvisor reviews and decided to give this hotel a chance. The outside needs restoration and a lick of paint.
The reception carpets were ancient and dirty - not a good impression The reception office was also a mess.
I was shown a room which was unbelievably basic and the plastic shower curtain reflected the need for a major makeover.

I did not stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sircumstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castle Douglas hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

A great wee hotel, room was clean& spacious,bed comfy, lovely white fluffy towels.the dining room has just been refurbished,food excellent,breakfast was lovely,all freshly made,all the staff so friendly and helpful,look forward to a return visit. Good luck to the young couple who have just taken over this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#4 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
22.1 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Arms

Property: Douglas Arms
Address: Main St., Castle Douglas DG7 1DB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Expedia so you can book your Douglas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Arms Castle Douglas, Scotland
Douglas Arms Hotel Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing