We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all packed and nowhere to go”
Review of Douglas Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Douglas Arms
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I made a booking in January for a family room for 2 nights on 14/3/14. I telephoned hotel on 12/3/14 to check booking all in order - was advised all ok. Received telephone call at 9.20pm on 13/3/14 advising that they had to cancel booking as roof has just blown off hotel and building inspector had advised them to close half hotel! A bit far fetched I think, as no adverse weather in area and Dumfries and Galloway Building Control know nothing about it. No alternative dates offered and while they were apologetic a bit of honesty would have been appreciated, if they have overbooked on the deals they should just have said. looking at these recent reviews however i think we have had a lucky escape! would not have appreciated arriving to a freezing cold hotel with two young children.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Douglas Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here 23/24 February on a 2 night deal. I had noticed from previous reviews that the heating wasn't working at the end of January. I'm afraid to report that it still hasn't been fixed. We were in room 22. Room was clean and comfortable. Window single glazed and room is on the main road so bit noisy. Small bathroom, with shower. Sufficient size but with the heating not working it was freezing. Room had two small halogen heaters which once they got going heated the room. It is obvious that the owners are undertaking renovation work and what they have done looks good so far but they need to do more to compete with other hotels on the same street. The reception area is very dark (compared to the upstairs corridor) and could do with being brightened up/
We had dinner on the first night which was pretty good and decent sized portions. The breakfasts were good. Choice of cereal, fruit, fruit juice, tea/coffee, toast and you can have up to 9 items for the cooked breakfast. Restaurant is warm and welcoming with a roaring log fire and recently decorated. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
If the heating is fixed would be happy to stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not overlooking the main road - it's a busy road and a bit noisy
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThistleTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here last month for a 2-night break. Having read some of the reviews we were unsure what to expect, and while the outside appearance could be better we had a lovely time.
The room was nicely decorated, quite small and we could have done with a chair in the room. Shower room was very small, and rather cold since the heating had broken down. There was a small electric heater in the room that we used.
The food was very good, nice selection and the portion sizes excellent. Breakfast was super, kept us full for the day.
Unfortunately our meal was marred by a mistake with the order, an item was missing and when we pointed it out to the waitress she was adament that we were wrong. She then proceeded to show us the menu and when we were actually correct told us it was a mistake on the menu, but how were we to know? It could easily have been rectified without this and made us a bit anxious.
Overall we would return at the deal we paid, and hope the heating is fixed by then.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asset2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Spent two great days here 5th and 6th of February great room no 21 very clean and comfortable .The staff were very friendly and helpful Food was excellent .Lynsey and Michael have done very well in the year they have been running this hotel and will continue to improve it .The sign came down in the severe weather but will be replaced when the weather improves .We would definitely recommend the Douglas Arms and look forward to our next visit .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here 2 nights in late January. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The logs fires in the bar and restaurant were fantastic and gave a warm and cosy feel. Yes, the hotel is a little dated (outside sign missing, reception a little dark & carpet needs replacing ) but owners are trying to renovate bit by bit, and staff do a brilliant job, so don't let this put u off. Dinned on both nights, plus lunch and breakfast and food was excellent, haggis lasagne was different but very nice. Portion sizes were great, and our complimentary bottle of wine on second night went down a treat- was a very good bottle of red, not cheap vinegar. Hotels heating was broke but was assured this was being fixed. Bar prices very reasonable especially for a hotel and encouraged us to stay in the bar. Overall had a great 2 night stay and would return on that deal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Spent two nights here (28th and 29 Jan 2014 ) on a £ 69 deal. Our room was adequate but not overly large. It was clean, freshly painted and had all new shower and bathroom fittings, but was let down a bit by the windows which are in desperate need of being replaced. The food was really good if from a somewhat limited menu . Breakfast in particular was wonderful with fantastic local produce. The bar was well used by locals who had obviously sussed out the cheap prices, and the blazing log fire was very welcoming as the hotel was on the cold side generally. The staff were friendly and welcoming and extremely helpful. The management are trying very hard to make a success of this hotel and deserve to do well. This deal was absolutely outstanding value for money and my wife and I were very happy customers who will definitely return later in the year.

Room Tip: We were in room 23.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had the misfortune of booking 2 nights at this little hellhole. We didn't stay the 2nd night and almost headed home on the 1st... For starters, the sign displaying the name of the hotel was completely missing on the side, and only "Dougl" was remaining on the sign on the front; not a good start (see photos). When we went in, the hotel smelled damp and dirty. The carpets were filthy and the hotel was freezing. We were shown to our room, which was also filthy. There was a dirty smear on the bath, the seal around the sink was dirty and the bathroom heater couldn't be turned on as the knob was missing! We were barely able to hear the relic of a TV due to the loud buzzing that came from it, neither light above the bed worked, one was even missing the bulb and the table lamp didn't work either. I think the hotel has been the victim of a light bulb thief, as none of the lamps in the dining room had bulbs either.
Dinner was edible, breakfast was ok but the orange juice had a peculiar taste. The waitress was very attentive and couldn't be any more helpful, unfortunately this is the only good thing I can say about the place. Needless to say, we will not be returning and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 38!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank houstieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.4 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
483 reviews
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,066 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Arms

Address: Main St., Castle Douglas DG7 1DB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Douglas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Arms Castle Douglas, Scotland
Douglas Arms Hotel Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing