We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jim Pat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Douglas Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Douglas Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jim Pat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Arrived expecting the worst and was very pleasantly surprised. The welcome was good, the room and the food were excellent. Ok, the hotel does need a bit of attention in places but was far better than some I have experienced, and paid a lot more for. A two night stay in a nice location for £69 is extremely good value. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimpat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    64
    22
    15
    21
See reviews for
24
95
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

As the title explains on arrival the hotel looked uninviting.As we entered the reception was cold.We were shown to our room ,where we exspected the worst. To our suprise when we entered it was nice and warm and the decor had obviously been updated. The four poster bed was a suprise and the bathroom was newly tiled. When we phoned to book the weekend we were asked if we would like to upgrade our room to one which has a jacuzzi. We asked how much the upgrade would be and was told ten pounds. We agreed. Unfortunately the receptionist did not inform us that it would be ten pounds per person per night. i was a wee bit upset to say the least so i would advise the owners to be more specific was asking for upgrades. Now the good news . We dined in the resturuant one the first night and were glad we did. The meals were excellent as well as the service. Great value for money and big portions. We knew by the evening meal standards that the breakfast would be good and we were not dissapointed. All in all we enjoyed our stay and after a wee chat with the owner you can see that they are trying there best to better this hotel and we think with a couple of years experience and some luck as theyve had a terrible time with the storms that this wee place will do fine. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVEN LOW L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

On my recent stay I found my room nice enough but freezing as there was no heating in my room. The staff continually lied about when it was going to be fixed and I had to sleep with my jumper on as no other alternative heating was offered.Very disappointed and would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Take an electric blanket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneJock75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castle Douglas hotels

Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I made a booking in January for a family room for 2 nights on 14/3/14. I telephoned hotel on 12/3/14 to check booking all in order - was advised all ok. Received telephone call at 9.20pm on 13/3/14 advising that they had to cancel booking as roof has just blown off hotel and building inspector had advised them to close half hotel! A bit far fetched I think, as no adverse weather in area and Dumfries and Galloway Building Control know nothing about it. No alternative dates offered and while they were apologetic a bit of honesty would have been appreciated, if they have overbooked on the deals they should just have said. looking at these recent reviews however i think we have had a lucky escape! would not have appreciated arriving to a freezing cold hotel with two young children.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here 23/24 February on a 2 night deal. I had noticed from previous reviews that the heating wasn't working at the end of January. I'm afraid to report that it still hasn't been fixed. We were in room 22. Room was clean and comfortable. Window single glazed and room is on the main road so bit noisy. Small bathroom, with shower. Sufficient size but with the heating not working it was freezing. Room had two small halogen heaters which once they got going heated the room. It is obvious that the owners are undertaking renovation work and what they have done looks good so far but they need to do more to compete with other hotels on the same street. The reception area is very dark (compared to the upstairs corridor) and could do with being brightened up/
We had dinner on the first night which was pretty good and decent sized portions. The breakfasts were good. Choice of cereal, fruit, fruit juice, tea/coffee, toast and you can have up to 9 items for the cooked breakfast. Restaurant is warm and welcoming with a roaring log fire and recently decorated. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
If the heating is fixed would be happy to stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not overlooking the main road - it's a busy road and a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThistleTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here last month for a 2-night break. Having read some of the reviews we were unsure what to expect, and while the outside appearance could be better we had a lovely time.
The room was nicely decorated, quite small and we could have done with a chair in the room. Shower room was very small, and rather cold since the heating had broken down. There was a small electric heater in the room that we used.
The food was very good, nice selection and the portion sizes excellent. Breakfast was super, kept us full for the day.
Unfortunately our meal was marred by a mistake with the order, an item was missing and when we pointed it out to the waitress she was adament that we were wrong. She then proceeded to show us the menu and when we were actually correct told us it was a mistake on the menu, but how were we to know? It could easily have been rectified without this and made us a bit anxious.
Overall we would return at the deal we paid, and hope the heating is fixed by then.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asset2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Spent two great days here 5th and 6th of February great room no 21 very clean and comfortable .The staff were very friendly and helpful Food was excellent .Lynsey and Michael have done very well in the year they have been running this hotel and will continue to improve it .The sign came down in the severe weather but will be replaced when the weather improves .We would definitely recommend the Douglas Arms and look forward to our next visit .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#4 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
22.1 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Arms

Property: Douglas Arms
Address: Main St., Castle Douglas DG7 1DB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Douglas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Arms Castle Douglas, Scotland
Douglas Arms Hotel Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing