We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD VALUE GROUPON”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Urr Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE GROUPON”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have to agree with the comments written by Revanti. If you want 5 star hotels stay away.
Defo in need of a good overhaul but it is not a total disaster. This is an extremely old building
so dont expect too much.
My room was clean and comfortable, the staff were extremely pleasent, dinner was excellent,
chicken liver pate, poached salmon fillet, fresh seasonal veg and new potaotes, dessert and coffee. Following morning we had breakfast in the very pleasent dining room, fruit juice, cereal and full scottish breakfast, toast tea and coffee. Paid £60.00 on a groupon deal. What do people really expect for that price. It would cost you as much to pitch a tent in a field and eat out for a three course evening meal and then eat our a full buffet breakfast.
Look past the decor and expect to get what you pay for. I stayed in room 15, massive bathroom with a shower cubicle and a bath, yes in need of some TLC for sure, out of the five light fittings in the room only one worked but so what! Comfy bed, clean room, a pleasent bar area, serving good food and a great nights sleep after a long trek.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieSmith186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    120
    90
    64
    133
See reviews for
67
282
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Went for mini moon as going on safari next year so didn't want to spend a lot. Bought on groupon for £100 this has be reduced since. Was terribly disappointed. The food was well below average. Not a very welcoming place. Very dated and cold.- although the water in bathroom came out literally boiling. Didn't see any grounds but didn't stay in there long enough to look. Don't waste your money... :-( the worst thing was they were having a new bathroom fitted in the room next to us. We're woken at 8am! Not what you want on honey moon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castle Douglas hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

When I drove up the drive the views was breathtaking. The place looked a little run down from the outside with its mix match of colours and windows. This hotel is not for people with any sort of mobility issues. There are step everywhere and the banister are not the securest. The reception (Linda) was amazing, firstly showing me to the ladies and escorted us to our room . At first we was given room 20. A spacious room with a lovely four poster and 2 single beds. When we looked up at the window it was black with mould and the wall paper was falling off. I went downstairs to ask if we could have another room as I am asthmatic and not prepared to sleep in a room that could affect my health. We were then taken to room 15. This room was dated, dark and in need of a total revamp but at least not damp. The room over looked a tower and rubbish/bonfire ashes. Surprisingly the bed was very comfortable. We had clean towels every day and the room was cleaned thoroughly every day and very warm. The old style T.V did not work nor the bed side light. The bathroom was like the bedroom very date and need of a revamp. The shower cubicle was not attached to anything which made it wobbly when touching it but the shower was hot and very powerful (just what you need after a few drams!) The communal are (i.e. bar, restaurant, lounge) was very clean if not dated. The food was very taste and can recommend the battered haggis. There was never an issue when we want something not on the menu. The chief and waitress couldn't do enough for us. The bar was well stocked and not over priced like some hotel bars. However, when it rained it came in the through the ceiling and down one wall in the bar. We came to Urr Valley Hotel for a friend's wedding and they really made it special for them. Even though it was a small party. In the evening we had the restaurant to ourselves and the staff went out of their was to make it special for the couple. Decorating the whole room for them. The staff makes the hotel what it is. It is with mixed emotions I wrote this review because from speaking with the owners of this place they have only been in 5 months so they are still finding their feet and have inherited a hotel that has a lot for issues and needs a massive injection of cash. I hope the owners keep the character and the features of this hotel and I wish them all the luck in the world. Despite all its failings and there are many I have fallen in this in love with quaint old hotel and hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barnsleybell35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in September '13.
We had a large room with a four-poster bed and the shower was excellent.
The room was heated very well, but the decor was lacking, mould on some of the upper walls, basically it needed redecorated.

Dinner was OK, with the food being adequate. The staff are run off their feet, the two girls who were working had to serve all areas of the restaurant, bar and kitchen, it was plainly obvious that there should have been more serving staff.

The Bar had no Fridge. And forget about WI-FI - unless you want to stay camped out in reception.

I don't like giving negative reviews, but I feel that I must to let others know.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1972-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Not much to say except I forgot to read Trip Advisor reviews before booking - otherwise I would not have bothered going to this hotel. Room was quite dirty, mould in bathroom, wallpaper coming off, everything very shabby, food poor - in fact breakfast was quantity not quality etc etc. Must say that the staff were very good and the location of the hotel is terriffic! I would not go again unless some serious investment in the infrastructure takes place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonG646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I am sure at some point this was a really nice hotel, it is in need of a complete referb, and I am sure it could be brought up to a really good standard with a good injection of cash, it can be very difficult when you have stayed in Hotels that have been kept up to date and have flat screen Tv`s (old style portable TV) and modern bathrooms not to be judgmental, if you are lucky and get a room to the front of the Hotel the views are really good we were at the back and there isn't a view as such, I would advise take it steady going down the drive to the hotel as the potholes nearly outnumber the rabbits running around, (picture a scene from water ship down) we only stayed for the one night and to be honest it was enough our room did not have a shower and I know that's not the end of the world but it is something you expect these days in a Hotel room there wasn't even a had held shower attached to the taps, the waitress we had I have to say was very pleasant, the breakfast was the only meal we had in the hotel but it was nice and hot. I don't want to sound to continuously negative but Its lack of being kept up to date really does sadly let it down and that is a shame.

Room Tip: beware of the potholes in the drive way which does go for some distance also if possible get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyMousehole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were given voucher for our Anniversary for a 2 night stay!! On booking did ask if should upgrade room but was informed we were being allocated a lovely room with great view. Sounded ideal! On arrival we had to negotiate a million flies flying around in the vestibule! Not a good start! Inside there were several fly papers hanging from ceiling! yuck!! A child was on reception and we had to wait a while for service! We were taken to our room Number 5 in the basement passing an outside area with a disgusting smell! It was a tiny decrepit grubby room with a 40 watt ceiling bulb (bedside lamp didn't work at all!) with a dirty old threadbare carpet and the bathroom can only be described as grim! The suite was ancient, window catches were broken and cleanliness left a lot to be desired!! To watch television you needed binoculars as so small!! View was non existent and in fact we could only see a pile of discarded rubbish! We immediately asked to be moved to another room as had been promised a lovely room but were informed there was no availability!! We did consider just leaving at that point but knew we would have forfeited the voucher given as a gift so reluctantly decided to at least stay one night! We were too late for lunch as the chef was away but to be fair the receptionist said she could make us a cheese sandwich which turned out to be a Dairylea cheese slice!! We were booked in for Dinner as part of the deal so were more than a bit dubious! On asking for the wine list the school girl waitress looked at us with surprise and said had never heard of one! She asked an equally incredulous waiter who said to ask if we wanted red or white and produced 2 bottles to choose from. He plonked our chosen one on the table, didn't open it or pour any or produce a wine cooler!!! We managed with difficulty to order our meals and had to tell the waitress who was completely untrained and out of her depth, that my husband didn't want his starter and main course at the same time which she tried to serve!! Other diners were having similar problems. We actually began to chat to them and laugh at the madness of it all and in fact the meal was surprisingly enjoyable! The dining room could have been attractive but was drab and had seen better days! The bed linen and towels were clean and the bed was comfortable but it was difficult to read with hardly any light! Breakfast in the morning was equally amusing being served by the same 'waitress' having to continually remind her to bring coffee and toast but again the food was tasty! We enjoyed our visit to the local area and by that stage decided to ride it out! Dinner that night was served by a more able pleasant young waitress and this time we had a wine cooler! We were the only diners in the dreary dining room that evening!!! There were very few residents so not sure why our room could not have been changed! Food that evening was again very good! The chef saved the visit from being a complete disaster!! Next morning at breakfast despite being only diners the previous night our table had not been cleared and was as we had left it including empty bottle and wine cooler! The lady owner served our meal but had to return with the missing black pudding etc almost at the
point we had finished the rest of the food. She seemed in a bit of a flap! When we checked out the male owner said 'Hope
to see you again'!!! Definitely not!! Avoid this 'hotel' at all costs!!! Looking at some other reviews we feel we must have been staying in a different hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urr Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urr Valley Hotel

Property: The Urr Valley Hotel
Address: Ernespie Road, Castle Douglas DG7 3JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Urr Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urr Valley Country House Hotel is a long established hotel set in 14 acres of mature woodland and gardens. With its stunning views across the Galloway countryside, it is an ideal location for short breaks, longer holidays, weddings and conferences. Sporting groups and coach parties are welcome.Within walking distance of one of the region’s most attractive towns, the hotel makes an ideal base for touring the attractions of Dumfries and Galloway and we welcome walkers and cyclists throughout the year.Within a short drive to the beautiful and lonely wilds of the Glenkens, this has long been a forgotten part of Scotland and is therefore relatively unspoiled with a wide variety of fantastic wildlife and spectacular landscape ranging from the mountains and moorland; woodland and forest; burns, rivers, to lochs and farmland.We have a large conference hall and a small conference suite for hire.We are licensed to hold weddings on site, either in the main hall or in the gardens.Whatever the reason for your visit to Scotland, our friendly and professional staff will ensure that your every need is catered for. Enjoy luxury in the heart of Galloway at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Urr Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing