We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Urr Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Dump”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights and I know it was a deal and you get what you pay for BUT. First thing to hit you is the smell, a mixture of dam and dogs .The room we were showed did not have one piece of wallpaper stuck to the wall. The bath was stained and we asked for a move which was agreed to(room 20 ). Breakfast was a shambles , make your own tea and toast , no orange juice or hot water and the tablecloth was stained and not changed the next day. Cheap cutlery , no teaspoons a guest had to look for them. The only bright spot was a young girl Ruth who checked us in and served at breakfast and seemed to be doing the work of 4 people. Its a shame because it is in a lovely setting and a lot of the work could be done without great expense , paste and paint are not that dear

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveyboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    120
    91
    64
    135
See reviews for
69
283
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our stay was very cheap and bearing that in mind we can't expect too much, but the room was tired, wallpaper pealing mould in bathroom. However it was very clean. The location is excellent, breakfast was good and the evening meals were very good as well. We took our dog who was made very welcome by all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aelvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

second time visit,but was put off this time by having to make our own tea in[ cups] [not pots] and toast,not good if you are sitting at other end of breakfast room and you fancy more than 1 cup .breakfast took 30 mins to arrive,so tea and toast were cold by then. staff were very nice.. please chef dont put so much black peppers in steak pie ,not everyone [me] likes it so very spicey . Room was dated but clean. Would have rated five if the breakfast wait and diy tea/toast had been better .SORRY rubbish idea to serve yourself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lillias l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just returned from a two day break at this hotel and I have to say it was just ok. It is a shame because the hotel is in a beautiful location but the hotel needs quite a bit of work and money spent on it to bring it up to standard. The room we stayed in was number 11 and it was a bit run down, the ceiling in the bathroom was starting to peel off and there was a lot of black mould around the shower. The breakfast however is very good and plenty of it. We had one evening meal in the hotel and I have to say mine was very nice, I had the salmon, although I would recommend that the hotel provides maybe a few veg with it as it was definitely lacking a few vegetables with it. My husband had the liver and crispy bacon and it was the worst meal I have ever seen. His plate was swimming in dark thick gravy and the bacon was burnt. He did say however that when he did eventually find the liver through all the gravy it was nice. The staff are very friendly and helpful, but the restaurant staff do everything, they wait the tables, serve at the bar. They also do the booking you in and out of the hotel and this is while they are serving in the restaurant. They work very hard and still manage a smile. All in all our break was ok for the money we paid but I would not go back unless the hotel had a full refurbishment. I really wish I could be more positive with my review as it could be a first class place to stay with a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

we stayed at urr valley hotel two nights 17th and 18th of may 2014. The hotel Is well sign posted and located within walking distance of castle douglas and 5 miles from dalbeatie. On arrival we were greated by the owners "Angela and Phil" who could not have given us a bigger welcome. They checked us into our rooms 3hrs early. The rooms are all clean functional and quiet, and are in the process of being renovated. The hotel as a whole is in need of renovation but in a world of holiday inns/premier inns this is a breath of fresh air. The owners and staff could not have been more helpful without being in your face. The restaurant food is very high standard the head chef is extremely pasionate about every meal that leaves his kitchen. The restaurant menu is a little limited but ask to talk to the chef and he can cook anything you want, obviously within reason. The ingredients are freshly delivered every day and all localy sourced. To sum this hotel up, the grounds are large and very grand, the hotel is a little dated, but has amazing character, the owners and staff are friendly and cant do enough for you and the food is amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room if you want, but all rooms are good if a little shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked a 2 night stay at the Urr Valley Hotel through a go groopie voucher. Mixed reviews online had left us unsure whether to go. However we were so glad we went. The hotel is currently being renovated, however we found our room to be clean and tidy, which was the main thing with the decor being irrelevant to us. The towels and bedding were clean. We could not fault the staff, as nothing was a problem. They were friendly and welcoming. The lady we first met in the bar area is a real asset to the hotel. We ate a meal both nights and the food was good with hearty portions. The new owners are obviously making a huge effort to upgrade the hotel and we are planning on taking another short break there at a future date and look forward to seeing what work they have completed. Being a short walk from Castle Douglas itself it was a good base for seeing the local area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angibvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

All staff and owners made us feel welcome. Breakfast well covered for all and main meals good value for the price. The Hotel is at this time a bit dated but they are slowly working there way throught the Hotel. The room we had was clean with all the bedding etc you wanted all in lovely condition. Very quite set in its own ground but close to town. Well worth what we payed and will visit again latter in the year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
86 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
84 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
423 reviews
16.3 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urr Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urr Valley Hotel

Property: The Urr Valley Hotel
Address: Ernespie Road, Castle Douglas DG7 3JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Urr Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urr Valley Country House Hotel is a long established hotel set in 14 acres of mature woodland and gardens. With its stunning views across the Galloway countryside, it is an ideal location for short breaks, longer holidays, weddings and conferences. Sporting groups and coach parties are welcome.Within walking distance of one of the region’s most attractive towns, the hotel makes an ideal base for touring the attractions of Dumfries and Galloway and we welcome walkers and cyclists throughout the year.Within a short drive to the beautiful and lonely wilds of the Glenkens, this has long been a forgotten part of Scotland and is therefore relatively unspoiled with a wide variety of fantastic wildlife and spectacular landscape ranging from the mountains and moorland; woodland and forest; burns, rivers, to lochs and farmland.We have a large conference hall and a small conference suite for hire.We are licensed to hold weddings on site, either in the main hall or in the gardens.Whatever the reason for your visit to Scotland, our friendly and professional staff will ensure that your every need is catered for. Enjoy luxury in the heart of Galloway at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Urr Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing