We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Urr Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hadn't read reviews, so we didn't have any negativity on this hotel. On arrival we were amazed at the location, stunning views and lovely gardens. Quiet location so no traffic noise, a big plus as far as I am concerned. The moment we walked in the door, we were warmly welcomed by Angela and Phil. They have recently taken over the hotel and are busy renovating, to many this would be a daunting task, but here you have a couple with so much positive energy, they will not fail. They have some of the best staff that I have met in a hotel - nothing is too much trouble and they all so obviously enjoy working there. The food was outstanding and priced well, the portions will never leave you hungry. Out room was a good size and most importantly clean, nice fluffy towels and plenty of tea and coffee. A T.V. With free view, complimentary shampoo and soap etc and lots of hot water. Now that we have visited we have lots of positive thoughts about this hotel and what it has to offer. I cannot fault this hotel, we are looking forward to returning and exploring the area further.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheStoreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    120
    90
    64
    134
See reviews for
67
282
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a two night stay on 27th/28th May. After the terrible reviews I had read expected the worst. The hotel was ok. The first room we were offered didn't have a shower, and was dated. I asked for a room with a shower. I must admit the lady owner was very much accommodating. Although the room was dated and smelled musty, it was ok. I was surprised that the hotel dog seemed to be allowed to roam where it wants, including the dining room. Apart from breakfast I didn't eat in the hotel, and I must admit Breakfast was terrible. Poor choice of everything. No fresh fruit, no yoghurt, 3 prunes in a plastic tupperware box; sachets of cheap coffee (which you have to make yourself, including tea) as they don't do fresh coffee. Breakfast can be the easiest thing to improve upon, if given a little thought. I could not fault the views from the hotel which were lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 86Phyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival the hotel looked decent from outside although the road leading to the hotel desperately needs redone and I was constantly in fear of damage to my car from all the potholes. Just inside the front door was swarming with flies (not a great first impression) but the door was always left open so understandable. As well entered the main room we noticed all the furniture was very dated. Could be argued that it had character but just looked worn. We went to the reception and checked in, wasnt the warmest welcome but got checked in and shown to our room pretty quick. Our room was through a number of doors and down stairs. There was a step down into the room which seemed weird. The room had a strong smell of paint which on the first night gave us both a headache. The tv was an old box tv with a digibox balanced on top. The kettle was old fashioned and slightly grubby of the outside and sat on top of a small shelf. The bed was incredibly squeaky, you couldn't move at all without it squeaking really loud. The bathroom was very very basic, the shower/bath was stained and the sink was cracked. The towels were presented nicely on the bed when we arrived but there wasn't anywhere to store them in the bathroom. The electrical sockets were situated behind the headboard and we had to move the bed slightly to get to them but when we did so the headboard disconnected from the leg. Having said all that the breakfast was lovely and so were the staff. We opted to eat dinner in the hotel the second night which was lovely and very very hot when it was served. Checking out was swift and easy with only the our dinner from the previous night to pay for. Overall a nice we break with nice staff and lovely staff, just a shame about the state of the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I received a weekend getaway from my friend for my birthday, the owner and staff couldn't be friendlier and made us very welcome including Marley, yes rooms are a bit tired but the overall experience was amazing and the food and service was first class, the gardens and scenery are breathe taking, will definitely be back again......A*** room 18 30/5 - 01/06

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived on a Saturday when there was a wedding reception taking place. Despite the need to cater for this amount of people, we were welcomed into the hotel and shown to our room very quickly. In the evening we had the choice of dining in the restaurant or the quaint little bar and the door was locked off to that the wedding guests did not have access. In fact, if we had not witnessed the guests arriving, we would not have know there was a function taking place. We were given privacy and attention by very friendly staff. The owners are proud of their hotel and were keen to tell us some of the history surrounding the area. We took some time before leaving to wander round the gardens, take some lovely photographs and then stayed in the hotel for a coffee and a quiet read before departing. Although we did not have the time on the Sunday to taste the Carvery, we did notice how quickly the place filled up and also that most had pre-booked which, given the amount arriving, was probably a good idea. This is a new venture and, as such, some parts still need some modernisation but overall the package was good value and I would recommend it to you.

Room Tip: Given that this is a historic building it would be wise to check if there are disabled access rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corporatecustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in May, I personally loved the layout of the hotel. We stayed in one of the old "gun rooms". Which had a long hallway into it, the bathroom was huge had a bath & shower, there was a little step down into our room, which had everything you would need. Tea/coffee making facilities, TV, Wardrobe, dressing table with mirror. And outside our room a lovely view of an old castle type building :) The hotel is only a short walk from the main road where there are shops, and other hotels. We had a meal in the Urr Valley hotel on the Friday night, which was lovely. Reasonably prised also. The hotel had a nice relaxed feel to it, you could eat in the little bar area with lovely views, or in the function room/ pancake house. Its an old building but this gives it character and I like that there was history there. The room we stayed in had an unusual layout which makes this better than staying in a conventional "Holiday inn/premier inn" type of hotel. I would highly recommend it & would stay here again. The hotel/ family dog was adorable. Staff were always helpful and friendly, and made me feel relaxed. With a bit of renovation the hotel would be amazing. But at the reasonable prices at the moment, I think its well worth the money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We dropped in for a meal while in the area. One of the tastiest meals I have ever had - absolute explosion of flavours, from starter (mushrooms stuffed with blue cheese & walnuts) to main course of salmon with noodles & the tastiest veg & sauce I've ever had.

Desserts were a bit disappointing, seemed to be all out of the freezer, a cheeseboard would have been welcome.

As mentioned before, staff were brilliant, very welcoming.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.7 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
117 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dalbeattie
55 reviews
16.3 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urr Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urr Valley Hotel

Property: The Urr Valley Hotel
Address: Ernespie Road, Castle Douglas DG7 3JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Urr Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urr Valley Country House Hotel is a long established hotel set in 14 acres of mature woodland and gardens. With its stunning views across the Galloway countryside, it is an ideal location for short breaks, longer holidays, weddings and conferences. Sporting groups and coach parties are welcome.Within walking distance of one of the region’s most attractive towns, the hotel makes an ideal base for touring the attractions of Dumfries and Galloway and we welcome walkers and cyclists throughout the year.Within a short drive to the beautiful and lonely wilds of the Glenkens, this has long been a forgotten part of Scotland and is therefore relatively unspoiled with a wide variety of fantastic wildlife and spectacular landscape ranging from the mountains and moorland; woodland and forest; burns, rivers, to lochs and farmland.We have a large conference hall and a small conference suite for hire.We are licensed to hold weddings on site, either in the main hall or in the gardens.Whatever the reason for your visit to Scotland, our friendly and professional staff will ensure that your every need is catered for. Enjoy luxury in the heart of Galloway at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Urr Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing