We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Urr Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location but the room I stayed in was horribly dated with a (pink!) bath so stained (probably with cleaning fluids but still ...) I couldn't use it. The food was okay but service was extremely slow ( to be fair I think that was due to new staff member so may not always be the case). I went with a deal so felt I received good value for money but even so I doubt I would stay there again unless rooms are upgraded. The proprietors went out of their way to be accommodating and I really wanted to like this hotel more ..it has so much potential ....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newburninghalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    120
    90
    64
    132
See reviews for
67
281
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here three nights recently. The hotel, located on the edge of Castle Douglas, sits in grounds well off the road, making it a quiet and peaceful place to base yourself whilst visiting Galloway. The hotel could do with some modernisation, although to be fair there was evidence that some decorating was underway. Our room was a good size, with en-suite bathroom, and was very comfortable. We had booked a reasonably priced dinner, bed and breakfast deal, so ate in the hotel each night. We found the portions very big, and not very well presented, but the food was tasty enough. We suspect the head chef may have been away when we were there. The owners could also have been more knowledgeable about tourist attractions in the area. Overall though, an acceptable place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel we found very disorganized bookings all mixed up needs a complete facelift the only two good things I could say in its favor is the food was very good and the beds clean but the morning we left my husband is still waiting for his breakfast would not recommend it at all.

Room Tip: All rooms badly need updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mitch702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castle Douglas hotels

Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just had a two day break here on a go groupie voucher. Although the Hotel was very dated and in need of an uplift we found our stay very pleasant. Refurbishment underway while there. The food was very nice especially the steak pie, good size portions. Breakfast very good too with the food being freshly cooked.
We found all the staff very nice and friendly. Would go back again once refurbishment finished.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just returned from a two day break in Urr Valley hotel Very enjoyable although our room was at the rear of the hotel we did not mind as we only spent time there to wash and sleep. Very clean and comfortable The area is beautiful and the weather was glorious Breakfast was very nice although the service was a little slow but cheerful We ate in on our first night My husband had the Lambs liver with bacon which was delicious nicely presented and I had fresh haddock which was only let down by the frozen chips We had the pancakes and coffee the following afternoon in the Double Dutch pancake kitchen excellent value for money and very very tasty We hope to return again .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leighty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
806 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Double Dutch Pancake Kitchen a new venue set in the function suite of The Urr Valley Hotel CastleDouglas ... set up 2 months ago ......nice menu ....reasonably priced ....friendly service .......superb pancakes ....I took the 'Shoarma' Spiced Chicken,onion and sweet peppers with Tzatzika Sauce mmmmmmmm!!
4 stars **** This will be a busy place once it gets better known.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craigluscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Visited the Urr Valley Hotel for a 2 night stay in June 2014 having bought a voucher with Go Groupie. It was a bargain and we were looking forward to a couple of days chilling out with our two dogs. The location is fantastic, you couldn't ask for better views from the hotel and the weather was good too. The staff were brilliant, the rooms clean and welcoming although, like most hotels I have visited, some upgrading could be beneficial. However we didn't visit to sit in our hotel room and we had two very peaceful and comfortable nights' sleep there! The breakfast was included in the deal and was fabulous, excellent quality and cooked to perfection. We also had a complimentary glass of wine on arrival, a large glass I have to say. We ate our evening meal in the hotel on our second day and the food was excellent and great value. We were made very welcome by staff and guests alike and felt totally comfortable with our dogs there with us. Marley the hotel dog is a sweetie and Phil and Angela a lovely couple. Well worth a visit, we will be going back!! :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swill7766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
16.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
16.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urr Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urr Valley Hotel

Property: The Urr Valley Hotel
Address: Ernespie Road, Castle Douglas DG7 3JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Urr Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urr Valley Country House Hotel is a long established hotel set in 14 acres of mature woodland and gardens. With its stunning views across the Galloway countryside, it is an ideal location for short breaks, longer holidays, weddings and conferences. Sporting groups and coach parties are welcome.Within walking distance of one of the region’s most attractive towns, the hotel makes an ideal base for touring the attractions of Dumfries and Galloway and we welcome walkers and cyclists throughout the year.Within a short drive to the beautiful and lonely wilds of the Glenkens, this has long been a forgotten part of Scotland and is therefore relatively unspoiled with a wide variety of fantastic wildlife and spectacular landscape ranging from the mountains and moorland; woodland and forest; burns, rivers, to lochs and farmland.We have a large conference hall and a small conference suite for hire.We are licensed to hold weddings on site, either in the main hall or in the gardens.Whatever the reason for your visit to Scotland, our friendly and professional staff will ensure that your every need is catered for. Enjoy luxury in the heart of Galloway at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Urr Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing