We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, clean rooms, comfy beds, fantastic views, lovely freshly cooked breakfast, tasty dinners = happy guests .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Urr Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, clean rooms, comfy beds, fantastic views, lovely freshly cooked breakfast, tasty dinners = happy guests .”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Although this hotel is being refurbished (to a high standard) at the moment, it did not detract from the overall experience. It is set in beautiful grounds and had a lovely family atmosphere. We booked using a voucher and were totally surprised. On arrival we, (64,62) were shown to the 'honeymoon' suite with a nice bottle of white wine :-) much appreciated! Four poster bed was so comfy and room had lovely views. Complimentary toiletries were much nicer than we usually find and tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits were there in abundance. ( pleased to see use of fair trade)
Will finish by saying that we had two rooms, the honeymoon suite and no. 2 for Grandma 86, which had been tastefully refurbished but did not see any of the other rooms. Room 2 had a single and a double bed, fantastic en suite with power shower. I'm sure, given time and understanding guests, the present owners will make the rest of this hotel wonderful too. It is a great place for bird watchers, has beautiful walks and is very close to Castle Douglas quaint shopping centre. Thanks for peaceful 2 days !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethandJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    120
    90
    64
    134
See reviews for
67
282
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries & Galloway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This couple have a huge task in front of them and its going to cost, the rooms and public areas are so tired, I think the hotel inspector could help, the place is very clean and the beds comfy, the bathrooms need ripped out and overall modernisation. Lovely setting and castlr douglas very close. We enjoyed the food with the exception of my sister who asked for salmon salad and got sauce, she was up most of the night sick, so not so good for her, my macaroni was the best ever made with lockerbie cheese.
I dont want to be unfair as yhis place needs all the visitors it can get.

Room Tip: The rooms are all quiet due to the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeekenderWooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location but the room I stayed in was horribly dated with a (pink!) bath so stained (probably with cleaning fluids but still ...) I couldn't use it. The food was okay but service was extremely slow ( to be fair I think that was due to new staff member so may not always be the case). I went with a deal so felt I received good value for money but even so I doubt I would stay there again unless rooms are upgraded. The proprietors went out of their way to be accommodating and I really wanted to like this hotel more ..it has so much potential ....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newburninghalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here three nights recently. The hotel, located on the edge of Castle Douglas, sits in grounds well off the road, making it a quiet and peaceful place to base yourself whilst visiting Galloway. The hotel could do with some modernisation, although to be fair there was evidence that some decorating was underway. Our room was a good size, with en-suite bathroom, and was very comfortable. We had booked a reasonably priced dinner, bed and breakfast deal, so ate in the hotel each night. We found the portions very big, and not very well presented, but the food was tasty enough. We suspect the head chef may have been away when we were there. The owners could also have been more knowledgeable about tourist attractions in the area. Overall though, an acceptable place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel we found very disorganized bookings all mixed up needs a complete facelift the only two good things I could say in its favor is the food was very good and the beds clean but the morning we left my husband is still waiting for his breakfast would not recommend it at all.

Room Tip: All rooms badly need updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mitch702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castle Douglas hotels

Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just had a two day break here on a go groupie voucher. Although the Hotel was very dated and in need of an uplift we found our stay very pleasant. Refurbishment underway while there. The food was very nice especially the steak pie, good size portions. Breakfast very good too with the food being freshly cooked.
We found all the staff very nice and friendly. Would go back again once refurbishment finished.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just returned from a two day break in Urr Valley hotel Very enjoyable although our room was at the rear of the hotel we did not mind as we only spent time there to wash and sleep. Very clean and comfortable The area is beautiful and the weather was glorious Breakfast was very nice although the service was a little slow but cheerful We ate in on our first night My husband had the Lambs liver with bacon which was delicious nicely presented and I had fresh haddock which was only let down by the frozen chips We had the pancakes and coffee the following afternoon in the Double Dutch pancake kitchen excellent value for money and very very tasty We hope to return again .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leighty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.7 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
119 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dalbeattie
57 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urr Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urr Valley Hotel

Property: The Urr Valley Hotel
Address: Ernespie Road, Castle Douglas DG7 3JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Urr Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urr Valley Country House Hotel is a long established hotel set in 14 acres of mature woodland and gardens. With its stunning views across the Galloway countryside, it is an ideal location for short breaks, longer holidays, weddings and conferences. Sporting groups and coach parties are welcome.Within walking distance of one of the region’s most attractive towns, the hotel makes an ideal base for touring the attractions of Dumfries and Galloway and we welcome walkers and cyclists throughout the year.Within a short drive to the beautiful and lonely wilds of the Glenkens, this has long been a forgotten part of Scotland and is therefore relatively unspoiled with a wide variety of fantastic wildlife and spectacular landscape ranging from the mountains and moorland; woodland and forest; burns, rivers, to lochs and farmland.We have a large conference hall and a small conference suite for hire.We are licensed to hold weddings on site, either in the main hall or in the gardens.Whatever the reason for your visit to Scotland, our friendly and professional staff will ensure that your every need is catered for. Enjoy luxury in the heart of Galloway at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Urr Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing