We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“LOVELY PEACEFUL LOCATION, FANTSTIC VIEWS,QUALITY...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Larch House

South facing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South facing
Open plan living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
South facing
Open plan living space
Log burner
Blue skies
Front aspect
Enter a caption for your photo
View of Screel from Larch House
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clairemcc...
barrow upon humber
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVELY PEACEFUL LOCATION, FANTSTIC VIEWS,QUALITY ACCOMMODATION”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place! The views are fantastic in this quiet location, yet it is only two miles away from local shops. Central location for the outdoor adventure thrill seekers with two fantastic outdoor pursuit centres within 22 miles. The night skies are a child's dream even at the age of 13 yrs!.
The property is open plan and filled with light, it has all you need for the perfect week away. All the fixture and fittings are of top quality and it made a great extended family holiday home.
Nearby attractions suited everyone and the mountain biking at Dalbeatie is highly recommended for al,l along with Lagoon outdoor pursuits centre for all your land based adventure needs and Galloway outdoor pursuits for water based activities.
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday as the house is down a quiet lane yet Castle Douglas is only two miles away, best of both worlds, peace and quiet away from the world yet only two miles away from amenities. Our idea of heaven.
Thank you Stewart and Chrissie .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and views
Liked least: would recommend mesh insect screens on bedroom windows for those hot nights that unforntunatley the midges like too!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dining/kitchen area
Liked least: Nothing to moan about at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie S
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Holiday Home”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

What a view to open the curtains to!
Self catering luxury with facilities for those who like to cook.
Stewart and Chrissie made us very welcome - Thanks for the home made shortbread and logs for the burner!
Ideal layout for a group of 8 adults.
3 miles from Castle Douglas with all local ammenities. Tourist info, supermarkets, good butchers.
Lots to see and do- castles, the solway coast, red kite trail, walks etc etc
Already booked for next year!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: tin opener
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidztamm
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unique Barn Conversion with Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The cottage was new and extremely well set out. Plenty of room in the open space living area and good sized rooms to escape to. Great showers and toilets with a modern approach. Good sized TV and a log burner making the cooler nights very cozy. A magnificent view to the Galloway Hills. We felt very much at home there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan living space and view.
Liked least: The garden was still to be completed - Very minor issue.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo S
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely weekend at Larch House”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

8 of us (all adults) stayed in Larch House for 3 nights. The property is lovely - beautiful decor, wood burning fire, nice location in countryside but close to Castle Douglas. We will definitely stay again. There was a delicious cake waiting for us on arrival which was a lovely touch and Stewart made sure we had plenty of firewood too. Definitely recommended. Only thing missing was wifi but it wasn't too much of a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great decor and lovely open plan space
Liked least: Could do with wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youngsant...
ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“1ST GUESTS AT LARCH HOUSE”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children staying at Larch House from 03-06/08/2012. I believe we were the first guests to stay in Larch House and the owners had to go the extra mile to get the house ready for us as we only booked the night before travelling. Talk about going the extra mile, Stewart (the owner) and his wife provided a welcome pack including wine and also baked us a wee cake. A very nice touch. About the house - decorated in a modern style with good quality fixtures and fittings, lovely cotton bedding, fresh flowers, excellent appliances. Everything you could really want or need. The amazing sliding doors and the open plan kitchen living area are ideal. Not much of view at the moment as the garden is a work in progress (as stated on the advert)and there is a building to the side currently being renovated. However, we did manage to see plenty wildlife, i.e. rabbits, kestrels, foxes and a family of swallows entertained us each day. All in all we had a lovely time. The location is very peaceful but only 10 minutes from Castle Douglas. Only a couple of minor negatives lack of drawer space or shelving for clothes in the bedrooms and couldn't find a tin opener but as I said, given we were the first visitors, I am sure the owners are still adding items to the property and I know if we had contacted them, they would have arranged both for us. Only other negative was the flies but who can help that ! Would I recommend this property - definately yes, in fact, I could happily just move in!!! Best wishes on the success of this holiday rental. The owners are lovely :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is beautiful and the wildlife amazing
Liked least: The flies
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing