We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal”
Review of Laurie Arms Hotel

Laurie Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Had a lovely family meal at the Laurie Arms, excellent food and drinks and friendly service. Good choice on menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LYNNE822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Another good choice from the Good Beer Guide. The staff were very friendly and the food very good with good service. The Galloway Gold gets the thumbs up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gcook68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“the food”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Quite disappointing ..ordered liver,I asked could it be cooked through and not pink inside,some meats are cooked rare But Liver should be cooked properly.It was frazzled when I got it..I sent it back with no offer of an alternative or even an apology.So I went hungry..I was told I wasn't being charged??? as if I was paying,I got nothing to eat as the kitchen had closed.I sat while other members of my family ate dinner.
The year before,we had gone to eat at the Laurie Arms,it was a Friday night and very busy,a few locals where stood around the pub as seating was packed with diners.We sat near the fireplace,and awful smells where coming our way,even the party on the next table got a whiff.To guys with big smiles on their faces where actually stood up near our table blowing wind.I don't know how they could find that so amusing,I had to refrain my brother from making a scene.I ended up leaving my fish and chips,my brother also had to leave his food.My bill was £16 and my brothers was £25 for food we left on the table.No-one bothered to ask why we hadn't eaten the food.So we won't be eating there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank fern l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, real ale and real atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The "Camra's Good Beer Guide" steered us well again. A traditional Inn style bar with a superb range of well kept ales and a fantastic menu. The main menu was mainly safe standard fare pub food, with the more adventurous dishes on the extensive specials supplementary sheet.

Very friendly and welcoming staff and a lovely atmosphere.
My meal was a starter of poached egg on asparagus spears and was cooked perfectly. Followed with Pheasant in red wine jus and finishing off with Sticky toffee pud. Portions were ample, indeed we had a long break before ordering dessert and we shared it between the 2 of us. Everything was cooked perfectly and well price for the quality served.

Indeed, we enjoyed it enough to return 3 nights later and quality was just as good going for good old traditional Haddock & Chips with home made tartar sauce.

Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha_Ashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Worth a detour from the busy A75”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We know Dumfries and Galloway well, and often stop off at The Laurie Arms before the long drive back to SW England. Following our most recent visit last week, I can report :- a welcoming. roaring fire on a chilly, damp May lunchtime; a smiling barmaid who seemed happy in her work; a 'safe' menu; a selection of real ales (not available to me - as my wife's designated driver - I'm afraid) and an excellent selection of 1950/60s Bamforth's saucy postcards in the Gents.
All in all, a great little boozer, and an asset to Haugh of Urr.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laurie Arms Hotel also viewed

Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Laurie Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing