We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Parton Stables Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Parton Stables Garden
Loch Ken Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Parton Stables Garden
Loch Ken
Bedroom
Kitchen Area
One view studio room
View Studio room
Dining Table in room
Parton Stables in the Snow
Massage treatment room
Parton Village
Allan Wright photographic workshop
Parton Stables Bathroom
Ken Valley and Screel from Parton
Loch Ken Near Crossmicheal
Threave Castle
Parton Village Winter Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
clock68
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

When we arrived at Parton Lorna had Tiffin cake and biscuits waiting for us! She was very friendly and helpful and there was an info pack containing everything we needed to know. The room was lovely, everything was fresh and clean and it had one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in. The scenery was amazing so peaceful and quiet, we would recommended it to anyone wanting to get away from the "daily grind" Our only complaint is we didnt book for a longer stay and we would definately go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and scenery
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phowell20...
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accommodation, lovely location”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a lovely location, quite remote and will need a car but just how we expected and wanted our stay to be. Lorna was very helpful and had a warm log fire waiting for us.
Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy231
Beckermet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We enjoyed a pleasant stay for one night, the place does look a bit more tired than it appears on the photos, but it is very well equipped and the sofa was certainly comfortable enough for us to nod off in front of the wood burner after a good day walking the dog. The television has a faulty screen, but it really didn't bother us as we fell asleep! Lots of dvds to choose from if you do manage to stay awake! Lorna gave us a warm welcome and certainly makes a good tiffen cake! Enjoyed a fantastic walk from the house before we left, the sight of all the trees that had been felled was a shock at first, but great woodland and ponds hidden away up the hill, the bluebells just weren't quite out but what a stunning sight that must be and then you are into forests. We saw red kite, red squirrels and wood peckers, and we could have walked on all day if we hadn't had to leave.
So we will definitely try and stay again some time, maybe when all the rhodies are blooming! Oh and the dog just loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
The eco friendly LED lighting certainly does not make the room bright like the photographers lighting system. Maybe the antique oak furniture pieces were not to your liking but we think they add character to the room. The 32" TV works fine, it just takes a few minutes to warm up but also will soon be upgraded. Thanks for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laura s
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great over night place to break the trip”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Myself and my mum + 3 dogs were travelling a 10 hour+ trip upto the Highlands. We stayed here and what a lovely spot! Very quiet and very quirky. Infact, I dont think I have ever stayed in such a neat bijou well stocked apartment!!! Lovely furnishings, a woodburning stove, pretty garden, and lovely bathroom. The main bed is a double however there is a folding bed available which was stored under the bed. I dont think I would like to spend too long staying here as I think it might get a little claustrophobic, however, for what we wanted it for it was just perfect. I would def stay here again. Do note though, when we visited there was no sign pointing you up to the place; if you are coming from Castle Douglas direction and you get to Parton Church you have one too far. And take a nice bottle of wine, its mile form the pub which was quite nice

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“friendly, peaceful, hassle free stay.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My wife and i Stayed here for 2 nights, the room was cosy and warm, the bed was comfortable. The kitchen part of the room was well stocked with everything you need. Overall a great self catering accodation with free wi-fi, free view, dvds and books.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the owners left you alone and trusted you in their property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUEOWENS
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“what a lovely place to stay at”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We went to the stables for a week, what a lovely place to stay everything you needed and the owners couldn't of been nicer.

It was very central for so many places to go and visit so much to see and do, beautiful countryside and lots of wildlife.

We will be going back as we didn't manage to do everything we wanted to do.

very nice place and would recommend a stay to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tranquil getaway in the heart of Dumfries and Galloway”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Just back from a relaxing week at Parton Stables. Set in a quiet wooded area it was hard to leave in the mornings as we were entertained by all the birds and red squirrels outside our window. If you want to see the red squirrels invest in some peanuts which they love.
All you need for a daily continental breakfast is provided and you can make you own meals in the evenings or visit the many local pubs and restaurants.
The hosts Lorna and Allen and friendly and welcoming, the log fire was already roaring when we arrived. They leave their guests in peace but are always available for any problems or if you just need a few logs.
If you want a relaxing, value for money break visit Parton Stables.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$66
/
Night
Week
Book instantly, without waiting for the owner to respond.
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing