We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dining - don't” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dumfries
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Dining - don't”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This used to be superb for food - it is now abysmal. We chose, from the limited menu, roast beef. It arrived 3 slices of precooked pretty tasteless beef accompanied with 3 cubes of turnip and carrot together with a small sprig of broccoli - frozen veg at its best. Gravy covered the beef together with sprigs of parsley. When we asked for horseradish the waitress reappeared with a saucer containing pancake looking yorkshires saying chef had forgotten to put them on our plates - he should have binned them! We overheard others sending their meals back - the atmosphere is gloomy - I don't blame the staff how awful must it be serving up this lacklustre food. We won't be back

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Went for dinner with another couple it was mid week so not packed out. My partner and I has steaks which were cooked exactly to order our friends ordered a chicken dish which was well cooked and beautifully presented. The staff are attentive

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dudley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Good pub food and service - a little quiet but been for twice and good value for money - a little dated and not alot of choice for beers but friendly

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rocky123-008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meal Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Turned up without a booking & taken in at once as very quiet. Food average & service quite good, but got a general impression of 'institutional' fare, restaurant reminiscent of one that caters for large coach parties, but had a pleasant evening all the same.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JR5632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Ship has been a firm favourite of ours for years now, as we visit this area every year. Our party of 12 were all seated together, however, the food was at best OK, and unfortunately a couple of us had very poor meals. One steak main was too well cooked for medium/rare, and the cut was particularly fatty, and one pork main was undercooked (this was removed from the bill when we complained). The service was OK, nothing special. The owners also own the Murray Hotel, and it would appear their attention has been taken away from the Ship - a real shame.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phil190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing