We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Hidden Gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnbrae Mill

Burnbrae Mill Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae Kitchen/Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae
Kitchen/Dining Room
Kitchen/Dining Room
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Main Bedroom
Twin Room
Twin room
Bunk Room
Ground Floor Family Bathroom
Wet Room
Meet one of our badgers, photo kindly donated by a guests. Viewing can be arranged.
Burnbrae Mill Winter
Journey to Threave Castle
Sandyhills Beach
Down at Kirkcudbright
Sledging at Burnbrae
Mountain biking in Dalbeattie Forest
Red Haven Beach
Loch Ken Aqua Park
Wind Surfing on Loch Ken
Badgers photographed by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae Mill April 2017
The night sky by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae April 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
James T
York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in June 2013

It was hard to write this review as the mill is such a delight we almost want to keep it to ourselves!

Burnbrae is an absolute charm, a great find in a stunning location. Set in an idyllic spot in Dumfries and Galloway you could not wish for more.

The mill is easy to get to from the main roads and is close to the small market town of Castle Douglas or Dumfries – you won’t be stuck for shopping choices.

If you are a foodie you will love the selection of quality independent shops in Castle Douglas, there is also a Tesco for other necessities.

The mill is also close to the village of Haugh of Urr, there is a great pub there with a fantastic selection of local beers and good food should you decide not to cook.

The mill itself has been extensively appointed, everything is to a high specification and very clean. Everything is immaculate, you can certainly see the attention to detail that goes into providing great self-catering accommodation.

We cant praise this high enough, we are eagerly awaiting our return this June.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susietsmi...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented property, lovely countryside”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Had a very relaxing weekend at the mill. It has everything you need and was spotlessly clean. Comfy sitting room overlooks the countryside. Spacious and well equipped kitchen. Two hotels serving good food within 2-3 miles. Lots of lovely walks if you get the weather. Some nice wee towns to visit. Friendly owner. Have already recommended Burnbrae to several friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is beautifully presented.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona W
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, clean holiday House! Fantastic stay.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Had a few days visit to burnbrae mill at half term. Really pleased, lovely place, owners thought of everything and the family loved the idea of the bedrooms on ground level and lounge and kitchen upstairs, worthy of a stay with lots to see and do in the area. Had a really enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jencowper
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cottage and wonderful location”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been to the mill more than once and each time we don't want to go home. It has more than you need, the bedrooms are nice and cosy, the living room has wonderful views over open country side, a wood burner and a big tv, kitchen with all mod cons, it is just a nice place to stay and the owners are there if you need them. Would highly recommend it !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
544Denise...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxurious peaceful get away”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Myself and family, (husband and 4 children) stayed at this beautiful cottage over New year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were very impressed by the cleanliness of the mill, it was spotless. The owners thought of everything to make sure you are very comfortable and have everything you need at hand . We have visited Scotland several times now and we found this the best we have ever stayed in.Our children loved it too, especially the dart board down stairs and all the board games and computer. We truly did have a fabulous Xmas/New year family get away together and enjoyed the luxury. The owners, Allan and Suzanne were always on hand to assist with anything we required. We would definitely love to return, thanks again!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dagefo
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, idyllic!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the mill for a relaxing few days away from it all and it exceeded our expectations! The mill itself has all the modern features you would want (fantastic kitchen!) but still has so much character. The owners were welcoming and friendly, little touches like having the wood burning stove already burning for arrival were lovely.

I would recommend this property to anyone. I'm sure we will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove, especially in November when it was freezing outside!
Liked least: Internet signal wasn't strong, but it meant that I was forced to put the phone down for a few days (not a bad thing!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unome4
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed here and had a brilliant time! The Mill is lovely and clearly done to a high standard, it really did exceed our expectations! When we arrived the place was spotless and we really couldn't have asked for anything better. The local walks are great and the view from the living room is stunning. We cant wait to go back and will definitely be booking to stay here again!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;