We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely to return to such a well set up holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnbrae Mill

Burnbrae Mill Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae Kitchen/Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae
Kitchen/Dining Room
Kitchen/Dining Room
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Main Bedroom
Twin Room
Twin room
Bunk Room
Ground Floor Family Bathroom
Wet Room
Meet one of our badgers, photo kindly donated by a guests. Viewing can be arranged.
Burnbrae Mill Winter
Journey to Threave Castle
Sandyhills Beach
Down at Kirkcudbright
Sledging at Burnbrae
Mountain biking in Dalbeattie Forest
Red Haven Beach
Loch Ken Aqua Park
Wind Surfing on Loch Ken
Badgers photographed by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae Mill April 2017
The night sky by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae April 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Dr Eddie...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely to return to such a well set up holiday oasis of relaxation, but exercise within easy reach”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Like a lot of D&G, countryside setting seems at first look, a little remote. However, very well placed for peaceful relaxation, and 20 - 30 mins from a huge range of activities from seaside or forest walks, to craft towns and museums. Our 5th visit, and hopefully not our last. We took in Devils Porridge museum, Kirkcudbright local history museum, Mabie forest with moderately strenuous walks, Sweetheart Abbey, Kippford and Rockcliffe, and so on.
Always feels very welcoming, with flexible sleeping arrangements for friends / family (one each of double, twin, and bunkbed rooms), very well equipped kitchen, good mingling public spaces, and a contemporary calm decor.
And of course Allan's legendary arrival cake....!
Good value too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
andygroar...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brill”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Top class accomdation great place lovely people kids loved it , what else do you need was unsur about the long drive to get there and back but the roads was great as well loads to see

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrenthe...
Horwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“WOW What a wonderful place!!!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It has become a tradition to get away for a weekend in February and we have found some real treats, and this is without doubt a real treat! Beautifully and tastefully furbished, but most of all comfortably furbished, log burning fire makes the living room a very cosy place to while away an evening, it is well equipped with just about everything you need. And as seems to be tradition a home made Victoria sponge waiting for you on arrival!! There are lovely walks near by, but you'll be struggling to leave.The host Allan is on hand if anything is needed, and made our stay most relaxed and enjoyable. You will not find negative feedback for this property because there is nothing negative about it, loved it and am sure we will return !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Just what the Doctor ordered”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Had a fantastic stay at this great cottage, the best self catering place I have ever stayed. Spotless and well kitted out and the cake was a lovely surprise. Will try and get back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SadieChin
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Burnbrae Mill in its beautiful settings. We had written to inform Alan that we would be arriving after dark and are truly appreciative of the lighting & warmth of the Mill..plus the yummy cake and milk that awaited us. Thank you very much!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SlimCharl...
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific house in wonderful location!”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Burnbrae Mill provides the perfect base to explore Dumfries and Galloway: it is perfectly located, being exactly halfway between the charming towns of Castle Douglas and Dumfries (15 minutes drive away), while feeling as if you are entirely cut off from civilisation, with only a very small cluster of other nearby houses, green fields, hills, and sheep to be seen looking out of the window.

The house is also excellent. It is spotlessly clean and felt recently furnished. It came fully equipped with everything we needed in the kitchen (including a dishwasher), as well as some board games and lots of extremely useful pamphlets about local attractions, and a large blue folder providing comprehensive information about the surrounding area (sites, restaurants, pubs, shops etc). The host (Allan) passed by on our first day, to make sure everything was ok, and to reassure us that he could provide any help we needed.

There were five of us staying and the place seemed very spacious. Burbrae Mill is excellent value for money and we would certainly love to stay here again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;