We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Place to Stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnbrae Mill

Burnbrae Mill Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae Sandyhills Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae
Sandyhills Beach
Sledging at Burnbrae
Mountain biking in Dalbeattie Forest
Red Haven Beach
Loch Ken Aqua Park
Badgers photographed by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae Mill April 2017
The night sky by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae April 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CE0910
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay.”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I have stayed here a few times and its lovely! Not too far from Dumfries town and situated in a nice quiet location.

Would stay here again definitely!

Thanks :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith C
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Holiday Rental”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in July 2016

We have enjoyed many super holidays here. Accommodation is of very high standard. We highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Pretty much ideal”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in this delightful location. Although there are other dwellings around you are not aware of them as the mill is on the edge and the views from the rooms are out to open countryside - and are fantastic. The bedrooms are on the ground floor and the living areas above. Double door / windows from the living room give out onto a lovely aspect, hated to leave!

The whole place is very well fitted out, is bright and clean and is really top notch all round in what is provided - with the minor lack of a good range of books and dvd's so bring some of your own if you need them.

This is a great base to drive to local areas, the coast, the forest at Dalbeatie, the loch in Castle Douglas, Dumfries. Not so much in the way of walks out of the door, although Drumcoltran Tower is about 2.7 miles by backroads and was a nice stroll.

We took some of our own bedding due to asthmatics in the family as that provided is feather, but for most the luxury of that is probably a good thing.

Burnbrae Mill is certainly going to be on our list of places to come back to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Eddie...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely to return to such a well set up holiday oasis of relaxation, but exercise within easy reach”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Like a lot of D&G, countryside setting seems at first look, a little remote. However, very well placed for peaceful relaxation, and 20 - 30 mins from a huge range of activities from seaside or forest walks, to craft towns and museums. Our 5th visit, and hopefully not our last. We took in Devils Porridge museum, Kirkcudbright local history museum, Mabie forest with moderately strenuous walks, Sweetheart Abbey, Kippford and Rockcliffe, and so on.
Always feels very welcoming, with flexible sleeping arrangements for friends / family (one each of double, twin, and bunkbed rooms), very well equipped kitchen, good mingling public spaces, and a contemporary calm decor.
And of course Allan's legendary arrival cake....!
Good value too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
andygroar...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brill”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Top class accomdation great place lovely people kids loved it , what else do you need was unsur about the long drive to get there and back but the roads was great as well loads to see

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrenthe...
Horwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“WOW What a wonderful place!!!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It has become a tradition to get away for a weekend in February and we have found some real treats, and this is without doubt a real treat! Beautifully and tastefully furbished, but most of all comfortably furbished, log burning fire makes the living room a very cosy place to while away an evening, it is well equipped with just about everything you need. And as seems to be tradition a home made Victoria sponge waiting for you on arrival!! There are lovely walks near by, but you'll be struggling to leave.The host Allan is on hand if anything is needed, and made our stay most relaxed and enjoyable. You will not find negative feedback for this property because there is nothing negative about it, loved it and am sure we will return !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing