We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in C.D”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in C.D”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A great place to stay with fantastic home cooked food(very generouse portions) .A very friendly pub both management and staff cant do enough to help in any way.I have stayed here now 6 times and guess what........I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbeddows1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    31
    2
    9
    8
See reviews for
19
32
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were pushed onto this hotel as our original hotel overbooked us. No Wifi, could not bring our case into the hotel as the stair case was too small, we were put into a loft where my husband could not stand up. Definitely not a three star pub.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My Nana was visiting, so i took her for a meal there. She enjoyed her meal, scampi and chips, (chips were left) not very hard to get wrong. I went for the lasagne, it was burnt to a crisp on bottom, black, and couldnt eaten cut through it. I told the older woman that works there, and she just said its where it caught........ ???!!! I was offered no replacement, it was clear i wasnt happy, no free drinks, or it taken off bill. Chips were frozen chips, drenched in fat. Wont be eating there again.
I was in with friends for a drink, they were having steaks, they WAY over cooked them, almost impossible to cut, complaint was made, again no refund, no free drinks, no replacement, they didnt even eat them, they couldnt!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank festie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed for a night while touring the Galloway region. The Hotel, particularly the pub and restaurant seems to be the most popular in the town. The staff couldn't be more helpful or welcoming. A traditional Scots small hotel/pub with good sized rooms and facilities. Would recommend for a stopover or weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank locheil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

stayed at the Crown Fri-Sun 10 - 12 May while on a Bowling Trip and the welcome we (there was 16 men) got was the ideal start to the weekend. The rooms were excellent, I was in room 2 directly above hotel entrance, a really comfortable double bed ,hospitallity tray flat screen tv, toiletries and a good shower
A well stocked bar to cater for all tastes and great entertainment along with the very friendly staff meant you didn't need to venture out.
In the morning you were not tied to set time for the breakfast which was just as well after a very late night but be warned the breakfast is huge so you might need to rest before attempting any physical activity after or should I say 'if' you finish it.
Having done Bowling Trips since 1996 this hotel must rate as the best well done everyone, will see you later in the year. Allan from Bainsford Falkirk

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williambald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stopped off here for food at the weekend. The food is amazing huge portions for a reasonable price. We sat in the pub part as there was a private function in the restaurant part. The staff are friendly :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albear76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the crown for a few month's as I was working in the area and I have to say that it has been a great few month's from the friendly staff, great room's and the fantastic home made food if it is not on the menu just ask and if they have it you get it if not they will have it for you the next time you ask perfect. And a final word of special thank's to the jewel in the crown the lovely and ever so helpful Sarah who really goes out of her way to make you feel at home . If carlsberg did cosy family run hotel's they would have to go some to beat the crown.
Hope to see you all soon . Alex from Glasgow .

Room Tip: All the rooms I stayed in we're very clean and very comftable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
479 reviews
6.9 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
81 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
112 reviews
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 25 King Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing