We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel very friendly but not for 'SNOBS'”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Falkirk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel very friendly but not for 'SNOBS'”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

stayed at Crown in May on a bowling trip and booked again with my wife 9th.-11th. Aug. The usual warm welcome. Given room 7 which was a family room very large WELL DECORATED VERY CLEAN and bathroom was more than adequate and also VERY CLEAN. We thought being asked what time we wanted breakfast was an EXCELLENT idea as you could have a lie in if you were out late, at a birthday party for example, and could decide when to eat breakfast , which was huge, like all meals and 1st. class quality. Sarah was very accommodating, as were all the staff, to ensure everything was as it should be and even had my wife in the kitchen for a wee blether and my wife was impressed with the standard of health and hygine (wife does catering for local community centre). Entertainment was good and locals were very friendly and there is a British Legion across the road if you prefer less youthfull company although I think some people forget they were young once themselfs. Police presence on Fri/Sat nights due to 'young yins' enjoying the 4 venues in this area was 1 PATROL CAR constantly circling the venues and seemed to work as in 2 visits to the Crown I've never seen any hastle inside or outside. My wife enjoyed herself so much we stayed an extra night( or was it because we ate to much) and has told Alexis and Colin we will definately be back. Well done everyone especially 'Young Sarah' looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williambald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    29
    2
    9
    8
See reviews for
18
32
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The only reason I gave this one point was because it was the lowest option offered! Hubby and I booked in here to attend a birthday party in Castle Douglas. On arrival hotel bar was very busy and we had to wait about 20 mins for the manager to come to book us in. That took about another 20 mins with the aid of a dog-eared book and included us having to decide the night before what time we wanted breakfast! Eventually we were handed keys and waved upstairs to room 6. First impressions were that the room was very small, hardly any room to get up the sides of the bed and no bedside tables or wardrobe. Bathroom was tired looking but seemed clean enough until I went to wash my hands and I noticed the hand towel which was absolutely filthy! This made us look at the other towels and they were ALL filthy! We then pulled the duvet back to find one side had drops of what looked like fresh blood! That was enough, we were off! When we told the manager he suggested that maybe the room hadn't been cleaned yet - this was around 8.45pm!!! Hubby demanded a refund and we were offered a better and bigger room - if they had such a thing why we're we not offered this at the start?! Anyway, we had had enough but, by the time a refund was sorted out, we felt it was too late to go to the party and we drove another 2 hours home - 4 hour round trip for nothing! This hotel is a disgrace and the owners should be ashamed and embarrassed to try to charge £75 a night for the room we were given. We will never be back. If that was the state of their rooms, what is the kitchen like? Thank God we were spared having to stay for breakfast! If you're in Castle Douglas and this is the only place to stay, do yourself a favour and get out as fast as you can!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mumzilla84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Being new to this area we have adopted 'The Crown' as our local. We are always welcomed with friendly faces from ALL of the staff of this hotel, special attention ALWAYS given to our 14 year old dog...Rosie the Springer who is always welcomed...and greeted with fresh meat snacks!
We are always amazed with the choice, quality & quantity of the meals we are served.....keep up this service and we will keep coming!


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nellystoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was my second year staying at the Crown Hotel in Castle Douglas (Scotland) and I must admit Colin, Alexa and Sarah made me feel very welcome again, nothing was to much trouble for them.

The food and service was both excellent. I came back weighing more than when I went.

The locals made me very welcome, some even remembered me from last year. This made the holiday for me as I was made to feel "one of the crowd".

Good weather, good accommodation, good food, good company, good surroundings - what more could you ask for in a holiday. Everything you needed was there.

I will most certainly be back again next year and look forward to seeing you all then.

Keep up the good work and don't think about leaving.

Francis.

Room Tip: If you a light sleeper who enjoys having the window open in the nice weather ask for a room at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

An average and pleasant hotel with very friendly owners, just a real shame about the saturday evening bar scene. This is definitely not a place to stay with a young family or for older/retired people. The place is packed with booze fuelled locals who are hostile to visitors and the atmosphere volatile. That's why the police are waiting in the streets adjacent to the hotel - we asked them!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We arrived on the Saturday afternoon as soon as we arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us which was a good start. Once we were settled in we went for a walk then came back for an evening meal the choice was very good and varied not only was that meal very tasty the portion was a real portion mmmm. When we went for breakfast the portion was also very large and tasty I never ate again until night time, once again the meal and service from all the staff was superb and we will definitely be going back. Nearly forgot our room was very big and the bed was very comfy.all in all we had a very good stay the whole weekend was very relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed at the Crown Hotel with a group of colleagues from work while on a motorbike holiday in Scotland. The staff at the Hotel were great and couldn't have done any more to accomodate us. Food was absolutely fantastic with immense portions and fantastically priced. The rooms were clean and we enjoyed a very comfortable stay. Some hotels would feel intimidated by having 8 bikers descend on them but the Crown took it all in their stride and it would have been difficult to feel more welcome. Definately going to use the Crown on our biking trips again in the future. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
465 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
78 reviews
6.9 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 25 King Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing