We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in cd” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
1 review
“Best hotel in cd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I had a warm welcome when i arrived colin and lexi cant do enough for me the food is very nice bug porions the menu as a wide selection of meals aslo there is a special board which is update eveyday the room are big also they are clean and tidy.
I would come here again very pleased

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    29
    2
    9
    8
See reviews for
18
32
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

When we arrived at The Crown Hotel restraunt, the atmosphere was seriously lacking, the waitresses seemed un-enthusiastic, and their uniforms were dirty, Giving us a clear impression that their hygiene standards weren't that good! My starter costing £4.30 was of ok standard nothing special for the price, obviously frozen fruit as I couldn't pick it up! NOW the Sirloin Steak costing £11.95 we all choose, the Steak came with over cooked chips and a so called pepper corn sauce, well u can't really call it pepper corn sauce as it was just cream! After we were asked if everything was ok, we informed the waitress that the steak was not cooked how we asked, their was no dressing on the plate or veg, and the chips were over cooked, she then went to tell the so called chef, then a elderly women came out of the kitchen in a apron, not chef whites, not very professional! She then started to TOUCH the steak and called us liars, then she picked up a chip and opened it up and shoved it in front of our faces saying it fluffy! After the waitress said thats enough, the so called Chef called my friend a Young Man when she was a WOMEN!! Then she started asking our age! She then decided to talk about us to a group of girls and started to laugh not knowing we could hear them!! They didn't apologise or offer compensation! All in all it felt like you was sat In a 1950's old fashioned supposedly restaurant with stacking chairs not very well hidden behind the door, and old carpet!! As I work In a restaurant my self I know the standards what one should obtain, and also my cousin been a chef noticed the lack of hygiene standards!! Just DON'T go, if she does that with food in front of you what does she do in that kitchen! HEALTH AND SAFETY DISASTER!!! As I took pictures I will upload them shortly!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

stayed at Crown in May on a bowling trip and booked again with my wife 9th.-11th. Aug. The usual warm welcome. Given room 7 which was a family room very large WELL DECORATED VERY CLEAN and bathroom was more than adequate and also VERY CLEAN. We thought being asked what time we wanted breakfast was an EXCELLENT idea as you could have a lie in if you were out late, at a birthday party for example, and could decide when to eat breakfast , which was huge, like all meals and 1st. class quality. Sarah was very accommodating, as were all the staff, to ensure everything was as it should be and even had my wife in the kitchen for a wee blether and my wife was impressed with the standard of health and hygine (wife does catering for local community centre). Entertainment was good and locals were very friendly and there is a British Legion across the road if you prefer less youthfull company although I think some people forget they were young once themselfs. Police presence on Fri/Sat nights due to 'young yins' enjoying the 4 venues in this area was 1 PATROL CAR constantly circling the venues and seemed to work as in 2 visits to the Crown I've never seen any hastle inside or outside. My wife enjoyed herself so much we stayed an extra night( or was it because we ate to much) and has told Alexis and Colin we will definately be back. Well done everyone especially 'Young Sarah' looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williambald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The only reason I gave this one point was because it was the lowest option offered! Hubby and I booked in here to attend a birthday party in Castle Douglas. On arrival hotel bar was very busy and we had to wait about 20 mins for the manager to come to book us in. That took about another 20 mins with the aid of a dog-eared book and included us having to decide the night before what time we wanted breakfast! Eventually we were handed keys and waved upstairs to room 6. First impressions were that the room was very small, hardly any room to get up the sides of the bed and no bedside tables or wardrobe. Bathroom was tired looking but seemed clean enough until I went to wash my hands and I noticed the hand towel which was absolutely filthy! This made us look at the other towels and they were ALL filthy! We then pulled the duvet back to find one side had drops of what looked like fresh blood! That was enough, we were off! When we told the manager he suggested that maybe the room hadn't been cleaned yet - this was around 8.45pm!!! Hubby demanded a refund and we were offered a better and bigger room - if they had such a thing why we're we not offered this at the start?! Anyway, we had had enough but, by the time a refund was sorted out, we felt it was too late to go to the party and we drove another 2 hours home - 4 hour round trip for nothing! This hotel is a disgrace and the owners should be ashamed and embarrassed to try to charge £75 a night for the room we were given. We will never be back. If that was the state of their rooms, what is the kitchen like? Thank God we were spared having to stay for breakfast! If you're in Castle Douglas and this is the only place to stay, do yourself a favour and get out as fast as you can!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mumzilla84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Being new to this area we have adopted 'The Crown' as our local. We are always welcomed with friendly faces from ALL of the staff of this hotel, special attention ALWAYS given to our 14 year old dog...Rosie the Springer who is always welcomed...and greeted with fresh meat snacks!
We are always amazed with the choice, quality & quantity of the meals we are served.....keep up this service and we will keep coming!


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nellystoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdomingham, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was my second year staying at the Crown Hotel in Castle Douglas (Scotland) and I must admit Colin, Alexa and Sarah made me feel very welcome again, nothing was to much trouble for them.

The food and service was both excellent. I came back weighing more than when I went.

The locals made me very welcome, some even remembered me from last year. This made the holiday for me as I was made to feel "one of the crowd".

Good weather, good accommodation, good food, good company, good surroundings - what more could you ask for in a holiday. Everything you needed was there.

I will most certainly be back again next year and look forward to seeing you all then.

Keep up the good work and don't think about leaving.

Francis.

Room Tip: If you a light sleeper who enjoys having the window open in the nice weather ask for a room at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

An average and pleasant hotel with very friendly owners, just a real shame about the saturday evening bar scene. This is definitely not a place to stay with a young family or for older/retired people. The place is packed with booze fuelled locals who are hostile to visitors and the atmosphere volatile. That's why the police are waiting in the streets adjacent to the hotel - we asked them!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#4 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
15.4 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
17.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
22.1 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 25 King Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing